Bumble and Bumble: Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer, Thickening Hairspray, and Sunday Shampoo

Most of my hair products are drug store (shampoos, conditioners, hairspray) with some higher end styling products thrown in (Living Proof and Ouai are some of my faves).

I know that Bumble & Bumble is a popular brand that has a load of different hair care products. Scrolling through my Sephora phone app, there were quite a few products that appealed to me, but I ended up purchasing three: the Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer – Heat/UV Protective Primer; the Thickening Hairspray; and Sunday Shampoo.

I had received a sample size of the Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer as a 100 point perk at Sephora one day and after using it a couple times I fell in love with it and I ended up buying the full size.  This is a conditioning cream-oil product and you spray onto damp hair, blow dry, and your left with hydrated, almost-frizz-free hair. When I tried this for the first time, I sprayed way too much and my fine, thin hair felt oily and fell flat. But the second time, I sprayed sparingly and I ended up with very soft, healthier looking hair. If you have thick, frizzy/dry hair, I think this product could really be great for you.  If you have fine, thin hair like me (with dry ends) if you use this smart, you might like this too!  Will repurchase.

The Thickening Hairspray is supposed to hold your style while giving your hair volume and body. While this is great at holding a style into place, I can’t say that I’ve seen any thickening going on. I’ve only used this on dry hair, but apparently you can use it in damp hair too. I’m a little hesitant to try it on damp hair because anything “hairspray” on damp hair makes me fear crunchiness after blow drying.  When I spray this into my roots, I do notice some volume but it’s nothing different compared to any other volumizing product I’ve tried. I’ve got the deluxe sample size here which I will finish up, but I won’t be rushing out to buy the full-size.

The Sunday Shampoo is simply a clarifying shampoo that is meant to be used once a week – hence Sundays! – to give your hair a deep clean after all the styling products and environmental stresses you put into your hair through out the week.  I’ve been a die-hard fan for years and years of the Neutrogena Anti-Residue shampoo to give my hair that deep clean (it’s a great drug store option). But I thought to try something new and the Sunday Shampoo definitely delivers.  It’s got a nice, subtle, earthy-minty-clean scent and my scalp and hair feel very refreshed after using.  Really though, any clarifying shampoo at the drug store will probably work just as well and for a fraction of the cost, but hey – I tried it and I love it!  Will repurchase.

Have you tried any of these products – like or dislike?  What are your favourite Bumble & Bumble products?

Thanks for stopping by!!

