Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara

You’d think that with the amount of mascaras I have on rotation I have 12 sets of eyes but that didn’t stop me from trying out the brand new(ish) Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara.

According to the Revlon website:

Our innovative, high-impact formula delivers 5 lash-transforming benefits, while our Revlon Power Mini Brush™ leaves no lash behind. Choosing the one has never been so simple.
• Revlon Power Mini Brush™:
      – Mini oval shape designed to reach every lash
      – Unique mini oval shape for easy application
      – Hollow core designed to deposit formula for mega lash impact

So, I’ll let you know right off the hop that I’ve seen very mixed reviews on this new product – the majority being on the negative side.  All makeup products, in my humble opinion are “to each her own”. Depending on skin type (oily, dry), formula preferences (liquid, stick), finish preferences (dewy, matte) colour preferences, makeup look (natural, glam) and so on and so on… makeup is very subjective.

When it comes to mascara this is no exception. Some gals are blessed with long, lush lashes; others with barely there lashes.  Depending on what you have to work with finding the right mascara can illicit that moment you hear the angels singing!

A lot of reviewers had really high hopes for this mascara as it claims to Do.It.All. – thicken, lengthen, volumize, define and curl.

Firstly, look at that brush.  When I first opened the tube, I was like WTF? How is this little thing going to make my lashes spectacular?  It’s a very small, plastic oval brush and quite spiky which is meant to be able to reach every single lash.  Other than my Clinique Bottom Lash mascara (click for my review!), I’ve never seen a ‘normal lash’ mascara this tiny.

When I first applied this I was a bit scared actually. The tiny size and plastic spikes of the brush made me feel that the chances of poking my eye out were a done deal.  I’m glad to say, no eyeballs were hurt during the application of this mascara. 🙂

The formula seems a bit thick, which causes a lot of product to deposit onto the brush. So when I pull it out, it tends to be a bit gloopy. My theory is that because the brush is so small, it’s picking up so much product where with a normal sized mascara brush, the amount of formula would be just right.  Wiping off the excess helped me to get a decent amount to work with.  As long as I do this, I avoid the clumpiness this can create.

This takes a bit more time to apply because of the size of the brush – a couple times of back-and-forth over my top lashes to coat every single lash.

It definitely defines – it’s very good at separating my lashes.  I can’t say that it makes me look like I have thicker or curlier lashes.

The one other good thing about this mascara is it’s great for lower lashes – again, the design and size of the brush is ideal for those tiny hairs.

I’ve worn this on a typical day – about 12 hours of wear – and it does not flake off or make my lashes fall flat.  I don’t think this is a waterproof formula, however this definitely had staying power.  And at the end of my day, removing this with makeup remover or cleanser was a breeze.

Revlon has a few other mascaras in this new collection that claim to to define, lengthen, volumize and a fiber one – each one is identified with a different coloured cap (blue, purple, green, and pink). Maybe I’ll try one of these out one day.

Overall, I like this mascara, but I don’t love it.  I will not re-purchase this mascara. I don’t like how long it takes to coat all my lashes with this tiny brush – very time-consuming.  And the fact that it doesn’t really do much for my lashes except for defining them, is a miss for me.  I think I’ve had this mascara for about a month now and I’ve maybe reached for it 2-3 times. I’ll probably use it for my lower lashes but that’s about it.

Drugstore-wise, the Maybelline Colossal Cat Eyes mascara will still be my all time fave (and one that I always recommend to friends!)

I purchased this at Shoppers Drug Mart for $6.99 Cdn (on sale).

I give the Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara: a THUMBS DOWN

Have you tried this mascara yet?  Like or dislike?

2 thoughts on “Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara

  1. Thanks for the review. Revlon released so many new mascaras it’s hard to choose which is best! I personally really don’t like plastic brushes so this will be a pass for me. xo J

Comments are closed.