bareMinerals bareSkin Perfecting Veil

So, I’ve been craving to buy my holy grail setting powder — M.A.C. Mineralize Skin Finish Natural — because I think I used up my last compact more than 2 years ago.  In the meantime, I’ve been playing around with drugstore powder options and they’ve been OK, but nothing comparable to the M.A.C.  I felt like splurging a little on a new pressed powder but instead of the M.A.C., I decided to try out the bareMinerals bareSkin Perfecting Veil (picked this up during the Sephora VIB sale!)

 

On the Sephora website:

What it is:
A weightless, brightening finishing powder that blurs the appearance of fine lines.

What it does:
This utterly weightless finishing powder is formulated with light-reflecting optics to help diffuse the look of fine lines. Infused with lilac plant stems cells and vitamin C, it helps to brighten up the complexion, and a special blend of minerals absorbs excess oil and balances the skin’s texture.

I was mainly interested in this powder because I figured if the M.A.C. mineral one worked so well on my skin to give me a smooth, blurred finish, I expected that this mineral powder would give me the same effect.

I have to say that this comes pretty darn close to my beloved M.A.C. powder!  This definitely gives me the same coverage without looking cakey whatsoever.  It sets my makeup well leaving my skin with a very natural, flawless looking finish. I don’t even feel like I’m wearing any powder after putting this on. For oil-control, I’d say a good 5-6 hours until my nose starts to look a little shiny, but the rest of my face seems to stay pretty oil-free for a good 8 hours.

I don’t mean to compare, but I do notice that the bareMinerals powder tends to look ever so slightly more powdery that the M.A.C., and less glowy on the skin. But only ever so slightly!

The compact itself is a sleek looking round black case with a magnetic closure.  It’s got a puff and a mirror that’s great for touch-ups throughout the day.

I’m really loving this powder and it’s got me interested in trying more products from bareMinerals!  Do you have any suggestions?

This is at Sephora for $31 Cdn (I picked mine up for $24.80 during the VIB sale). A few bucks cheaper than the M.A.C. powder at $37 Cdn.

I give the bareMinerals bareSkin Perfecting Veil: a HIGH FIVE.

Have you tried this powder?  Like or dislike?

Thanks for reading!!

