Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Vitamin C Youth Activating Oil

During the Sephora VIB sale, I picked up the Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Vitamin C Youth Activating Oil (amongst other things!).  I’ve had my eye on purchasing this product a loooooong time ago since using a sample packet of it and completely falling in love.  So I thought, what better time to indulge in a little ‘spensive skincare when I can get 20% the price?

On the Sephora website:

What it is:
A powerful activating oil infused with 100 percent pure organic rose hips seed oil, a natural source of active vitamin C, vitamin A, and essential fatty acids, to brighten, repair, and nourish while minimizing the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

What it is formulated to do:
Luxurious and lightweight, this brightly citrus-scented potent antiaging treatment oil quickly absorbs and deeply penetrates to heal, nourish, and hydrate. Fine lines are visibly reduced and skin is immediately brighter and more radiant. Abundant with antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties, skin is defended from future damage and balanced—look forward to a brighter future daily.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

What else you need to know:
Unprocessed to maintain the highest potency, rose hips oil is a single source of active vitamin A, vitamin C, and high levels of essential fatty acids.

Research results:
In a consumer usage study:
– 100% said their skin looked brighter, more luminous, and glowed
– 85% said the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles was visibly reduced

First off, my skincare junkies out there — you might be thinking, this product is made with 100% rose hip oil, why not just buy a bottle of pure rose hip oil at a healthfood store for waaaaay less money?  I considered that, but honestly, after using a sample of this particular oil and loved how it worked on my skin, I didn’t want to sway away from something that I knew would possibly continue to work for me over a longer period of time.

I’ve been really  into using oils on my skin as a nighttime treatment in replacement of most of my night moisturizers. Having combo/oily skin in the warmer months and combo/dry skin in the colder months (like now), I find using facial oils is a win-win for my face in all seasons.

This oil, being 100% rosehip seed oil, has a very distinct, some call it, “fishy” smell. Some people don’t like it, but I don’t mind it all that much actually. Rosehip seed oil is a vegetable oil that contains vitamin A (retinol) and your good fatty acids (omega-3’s and 6’s).  It’s got anti-oxidants like lycopene and beta carotene, that may prevent the signs of aging.

I use this only in the evenings.  After cleansing, toning and applying the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum Vitamin C Collagen Booster  to my face (which I didn’t give a good rating to, but in combination with the oil, I hope I’ll see better results), I pump almost a full pump of the oil into my palm and rub my hands together to warm up the oil and disperse evenly over both of my palms.  Then, I simply PRESS the oil into my face with my hands — cheeks, chin, forehead, around the nose, even over the eyes.  I keep pressing until most of the oil has transferred from my hands to my face and press until I feel like most of the oil has absorbed. I don’t follow up with a moisturizer.

I noticed that this oil will leave an subtle orange tint on my hands and my face — no big deal – the oil comes off easily from my hands with soap and water. My face tends to look oily for a good amount of time after applying; I find that it doesn’t absorb completely into the skin, but that’s the nature of a facial oil.

In the morning, I wake up to glowing, brighter looking skin. Also, by morning time, the oil has sunk in completely that my face feels super hydrated and plump.

I’ve been using this oil almost every single night since getting it for the last few weeks and it’s really made my nighttime skincare routine something to look forward to!  I’m liking the results I’ve been getting so far. I’m hoping that if I continue using this along with the OH Vitamin C booster, I’ll be able to see my sun spots disappear over time.

Maybe when I run out of this, I will consider purchasing a more budget-friendly version of 100% pure rosehip seed oil product. But for now, I’m really enjoying this and will use every last drop of it!

I purchased this at Sephora for $44.80 Cdn (with the 20% VIB discount).

I give the Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Vitamin C Youth Activating Oil:  a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried this oil?  Like or dislike?  Any other facial oil suggestions you can give me?

Thanks for reading!!

 

2 thoughts on “Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Vitamin C Youth Activating Oil

  1. Love your review! Thank you! Does this product keep its “fishy” smell that rose hip oil has, or are they doing something to mask it so it isn’t at “fishy”? I’ve never encountered rose hip oil, so I’m not sure what the smell is like.

    I’m tempted to give this a try as I am currently using the 3 little wonders by ole henriksen and really enjoying it!

    Love//kristy ww
    http://kissmyknee.com

    • Actually, this does maintain the signature ‘fishy’ smell that rosehip oil is known to have. For me though, it’s not bothersome and depending on your idea of ‘fishy’ smell, it might or might not bother you. Once this is on my skin, I can’t smell a thing.

      Maybe ask for a sample of the oil from Sephora first to see if the smell bothers you. But honestly, it’s really not bad at all!

      I’ve tried the 3 little wonders set too – that’s where the vitamin C collagen booster I’m using along with the oil is from. The other two products in that set didn’t wow me and the collagen booster seems to work really well (better even) with the oil.

      Thanks for reading!

Comments are closed.