Laura Mercier Secret Concealer

Happy 2016 everyone!!  I hope you had a great holiday season and I’m looking forward to sharing another year of reviews with you!

So, it happened. I finally got sucked into the high-end concealer game and I’m happy to say that I won.

Don’t get me wrong – drugstore concealers are awesome if you find the right one for your needs. I still swear by the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer to cover up dark spots and the Maybelline Superstay Better Skin concealer for extra coverage and brightening around the eyes. Other notable concealers:  Maybelline FitMe, Maybelline Age Rewind, and L’oreal True Match.

The problem with drugstore concealers is the lack of peachy or salmon-toned options. And I’ve discovered that peachy or salmon-toned concealers are THE way to go if you’re battling dark undereye circles (especially of the blue/purple-toned variety).

A lot of the drugstore concealers I own are mostly neutral or yellow-toned – which is great for matching my skin. But when I apply them to the darker tone under my eyes, I end up looking ashy and grey underneath – almost looks worse than if I had just left my eyebags alone!  No bueno.

So, the only option was for me to venture into the Motherland:  Sephora.  Doing my research beforehand, I had my sights set on the Bobbi Brown Corrector in Peach but upon swatching and trying, I found this a bit too thick and a bit dry and was afraid it would require a lot of work to blend in. Then a Sephora associate recommended the Laura Mercier Secret Concealer as an alternative I might like.

On the Sephora website:

What it is:
A moisture-rich concealer designed for under and around the eye area.

What it does:
This high-pigment formula conceals discolorations and dark circles without settling into fine lines and wrinkles. By providing more “slip” and gliding on effortlessly, the crease-resistant concealer naturally brightens and wakes up the entire eye area for up to eight hours. Consider it your secret weapon against dark circles.

What else you need to know:
This dermatologist-tested, non-comedogenic product is ideal for all skin types.

I picked out shade number 4, which is described as a “true natural beige for light neutral and yellow undertones”. In person this is definitely a deep peach shade which turned out to be a perfect match for me.

The consistency of this pot concealer is awesome – not too creamy, not too waxy, non-greasy and not too thick. It doesn’t take much to warm this up and blend seamlessly under my eyes. And a little goes a long way!!  I swirl one ring finger into the pot, use my other ring finger to warm up the product between the two, and use what I have on each finger for each undereye.  From there, I tap the concealer into my skin until almost all blended in and then finish off with my Beauty Blender to ensure it’s completely melted into my skin.

 

As long as I blend this in well, there is absolutely NO creasing and it does last for up to eight hours (as the description states).  I don’t even follow up with a ‘regular’ concealer – I blend well and set with a powder and done!  It really does diminish the dark shadows under my eyes – better than any concealer I have ever tried so far.

The photo above doesn’t capture the true salmony-ness of colour this actually is, but trust me, it is!

I’ve read some reviewers say this concealer creases and doesn’t last throughout the day.  If you have combo-oily skin like me, this will work as long as I set it with a powder. The trick is, really I think, is to take your time blending it in and setting lightly with face powder.

I especially love using this on my no makeup days – a little BB cream to even out my skintone and a little bit of this and it makes a world of difference in how my skin looks and how brighter my complexion looks overall!

This is an amazing product – one that I will probably repurchase over and over again!  The little pot is $31 Cdn, but well worth the money; I’m telling you. I’ve had this for a few months now and have been using almost everyday and as you can see from the photo, it barely looks used.

On the Sephora website this comes in 12 shades, so a pretty good chance you’ll find something suitable for you.

I give the Laura Mercier Secret Concealer: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried this concealer?  Like or dislike?

Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Secret Concealer

  1. I’ve been wanting to try a new concealer, I do like the bobbi brown one but I will agree it is thick. I love my Nars Radiant concealer too!!

Comments are closed.