MAKE UP FOREVER: Step 1 Primers – Mattifying Base and Smoothing Base

I’m guessing that most of you reading this have heard of the MAKE UP FOREVER primers that were released earlier this year. When a new makeup product comes out, I will typically wait it out for a while as I hear more about the product and hear other’s reviews before I consider buying.  However, it didn’t take me long to decide I wanted to try out the MUFE primers after hearing a lot of good things!

I’ve been trying both the Mattifying and Smoothing versions of the MUFE primers.  In this collections, they’ve got a total of 10 primers — five to serve to refine your skin’s texture and five to refine your skin’s tone. Here’s a link to the Sephora website that shows you the primers available:

http://www.sephora.com/step-1-skin-equalizer-P393965?country_switch=ca&lang=en

Although I’ve heard good reviews I wasn’t prepared to spend the $43 Cdn right off the hop for each primer. Lucky for me, in the Sephora “Aisle-Of-Doom” (a.k.a. the trail-size products that surround you leading up to the cash register), I found sample sizes of the MUFE Mattifying and Smoothing primers for $19 Cdn each.

Let’s start with the Mattifying version. Wow. I’m just gonna say it right off the bat — this primer is the MOST mattifying primer I have ever tried in my entire life (so far; but I don’t know… this is gonna be a hard one to beat!).  With this primer, I’ve learned that less is definitely more.  I only need the tiniest amount and I only apply this to my nose and forehead.  The first time I used this, I got over ambitious and applied about a pea-size to my entire face and literally, it was hard to even smile because this stuff dries to such a matte texture on the skin!  I mean, it works obviously!  But for me, a bit on the nose and forehead does the trick to keep those areas matte as matte and keeps my makeup lasting wonderfully.

For ladies with super oily skin (all over or in some areas) I think you will really like this primer. For you gals with drier skin, I anticipate that this will stick to your dry areas and make you feel even drier, unless you moisturize quite heavily. But for anyone who wants their makeup to last longer and keep a matte finish almost all day long, this primer is awesome for that!

The Smoothing version is awesome. If you like the Benefit POREfessional primer, you’ll probably like this one.  It’s got the same texture (almost powdery), same skin-like tint (but dries invisible) BUT… in my opinion it is a lot lighter-weight in texture and provides such a smooth finish to my skin!  After applying a pea-size all over my face, I look airbrushed. I could probably get away with wearing just this some days (with maybe a bit of concealer to even out my skintone) because my skin looks so soft and semi-matte with this primer on.

Applying foundation or tinted moisturizer over the Smoothing primer is a dream — it provides such an even surface for my base and blends everything so seamlessly. As for lasting power, I’d say this does prolong my makeup wear for about 9-10 hours before I see fading. Pretty good!

TOP: MUFE Smoothing Primer BOTTOM: MUFE Mattifying Primer

 

I have to admit:  I’ve tried many, many primers, both drugstore and higher-end and although there are drugstore options that are great, higher-end primers are really great.  I think investing in a good primer is well worth the money especially if they create the perfect canvas for your makeup, whether it be a light application or a full-on face.

I would definitely consider purchasing the MUFE primers (Smoothing version in particular!).

I give the MUFE primers: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried these primers or any other MUFE primers?  Like or dislike?  What’s your favourite primer?

Thanks for reading!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “MAKE UP FOREVER: Step 1 Primers – Mattifying Base and Smoothing Base

  1. I have very oily skin and I use it but I still get very oily. It is better than a lot of the other ones i’ve tried but not a home run.

    • That’s too bad 😦 I like the Estee Lauder mattifying primer, have you tried that one? I don’t have really oily skin though, so this works just right for me. I hope you find something that works perfect for you 🙂

Comments are closed.