Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation and Concealer

Like I need anymore foundation or concealer.

But for review purposes and for my own addiction, I couldn’t stay away from one of  newer foundation/concealer releases from the drugstore — Maybelline Superstay Better Skin foundation and concealer.

On the Maybelline website (about the foundation):

Longwear foundation that improves skin’s appearance every minute you’re in it.  With the antioxidant power of Actyl-C, a more durable form of vitamin C.  For all skin types. Medium to full coverage.

Superstay Better Skin Foundation gives an all-day flawless coverage and better-looking skin in 3 weeks. The foundation reduces the appearance of spots, dullness and uneveness and gives you a brighter, more even and stress-free skin.

The foundation comes in 12 shades and the concealer comes in 6 shades, ranging from very light to tan/dark.

I ended up picking up the shade 85 Sun Beige in the foundation and Medium in the concealer. At first glance, a lot of the lighter foundation shades look to have quite pink undertones and the medium/darker shades have more neutral undertones.  Unfortunately for someone who has yellow undertones like me, drugstore foundations don’t typically cater to me (MAC NC40 for reference). I was pleasantly surprised however, that 85 Sun Beige ended up pulling ever so slightly yellow once it set on my face.

Let’s talk about formula. So this foundation is supposed to actually improve the look and texture of your skin after 3 weeks of wear. I can’t attest to this claim as I’ve only been wearing this for a week or so and just couldn’t wait to review!

The texture of this foundation is actually very nice — a light, liquid, almost gel-like texture. Very easy to blend out on the skin. I’ve tried applying this with both a brush and beauty blender and it applies well, although I like the more natural finish it gives with the beauty blender.

TOP: Better Skin Concealer in Medium BOTTOM: Better Skin Foundation in 85 Sun Beige

TOP: Better Skin Concealer in Medium BOTTOM: Better Skin Foundation in 85 Sun Beige

The foundation gives a light to medium coverage, but I think this can be built up to a fuller coverage if that’s what you’re looking for. As you can tell from the swatches, the foundation is slightly more watery in texture compared to the concealer. The foundation gives me a satin-matte finish on the skin and the concealer gives more of a matte finish, without looking flat or cakey.

I like that the foundation has a pump — less messy and controlled amount means less waste!

Lasting power of the foundation?  I’d say a good 9-10 hours. I find that it seems to control my oil quite well. I would say it oxidizes just a smidgen but not so much that it makes me look too off. I really like how this foundation looks upon application and how it wears through the day.

The concealer is medium to full coverage and lasts up to 6 hours (under my eyes and around my nose, but maybe that’s because I tend to touch those parts of my face throughout the day). Setting this with a light dusting of powder prevents creasing or settling into my fine lines. I like this concealer, but I don’t love it.

In comparison with the ever-so-popular Maybelline FitMe Matte + Poreless Foundation, I think I prefer this Maybelline foundation better. It lasts longer, it give a bit more fuller coverage, it feels like nothing on the skin and it wears nice through out the day.

I give the Maybelline Better Skin foundation and concealer both: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried one or both of these products?  Like or dislike?

Thanks for reading!!

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation and Concealer

Comments are closed.