Birchbox Canada: Seven months in, what do I think?

I’m just over halfway through my yearly Birchbox Canada subscription so I thought it would be a great time to share my thoughts on the service and products so far!

So, since February this year (2015) I’ve been receiving a Birchbox every single month. For $14.95 per month I can look forward to receiving five sample size/deluxe sample size products that cover the haircare, skincare and makeup categories.

A majority of products I’ve received are from brands that I’ve never heard of — which actually appeals to me because it gives me a chance to possibly find something new that I really enjoy.  On the other hand, I’ve also received items from brands I know of or have tried out — and it’s worked out in my favour because the items I’ve received are ones that I was meaning to buy and try out myself or I’m already in love with.

Each monthly box always has a different design and very pretty.  The best thing about these boxes is that I’ve re-used every single one as makeup and skincare organizers in my dressing table (how appropriate, no?).  They are tiny but quite sturdy!

One of the pretty boxes Birchbox sends with their goodies every month!

One of the pretty boxes Birchbox sends with their goodies every month!

I won’t go in too much detail here on everything I’ve received so far, but if you’re curious to see what Birchbox goodies I’ve accumulated since February, I’ve written up posts for each month’s box!

Some of my favourite Birchbox products I’ve received so far are the Beauty Blender with cleanser solid, Benefit Roller Lash Mascara and Benefit They’re Real! Mascara. I’ve also discovered a few products from a brand called Gilchrist & Soames (like their Spa Therapy body lotion) that I’m totally in love with.

Customer service has been stellar; other than a bit of a blip on my very first Birchbox (see my February post).  Whenever I have questions about my order, I email customer service and receive a reply promptly within their time standard of 1-2 days.

In addition to the monthly boxes I receive, I am able to purchase products right off the Birchbox Canada website!  This is great because if I get a sample of something and like it, I know I can find the full-size version of the product to purchase off the website.  This is exactly what I did with the Derma E Anti-Wrinkle Glycolic Scrub!  Also, I threw in the Balm’s Cabana Boy blusher to purchase — this is a brand I’ve always wanted to try but cannot find readily anywhere in my city!

So overall, I’m very happy with my Birchbox Canada subscription. Can’t wait to keep getting more!

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  What are you’re thoughts on it?

Thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Birchbox Canada: Seven months in, what do I think?

  1. Have you looked at Rexall/Pharma Plus? They sell the Balm here in Guelph! 🙂
    Oh, and hi – I’ve read but I don’t know if I’ve commented before! I enjoy your blog – nice to hear from someone Canadian! 🙂

Comments are closed.