Clinique City Block Sheer Oil-Free Face Protector SPF 25

In the market for a new daytime face moisturizer, I had my sights set on the Clinique City Block SPF 25 lotion for a while.  I’ve read very good reviews on this day lotion and with Clinique ‘Bonus Time’ happening as I passed by the Clinique counter one day, it was the perfect time to buy!

Firstly, I’m a BIG stickler for using face moisturizers with SPF. Must Must Must!  Having a few sun spots popping up on my face over the last few years, I’ve made it a point to always wear a sunscreen on my face all year round — do my best to prevent any further sun damage as I get older.

I was always hesitant to use a face moisturizer with anything greater than an SPF 15 — I’ve had bad experiences in the past with higher SPF products either “pilling” on me or just feeling too heavy, looking too shiny, feeling too greasy. Blech.  But in reading a few good reviews on the Clinique, I thought I’d give this one a try.

So far, really good!  Not only does this moisturizer have a good amount of SPF, it’s formulated with antioxidants.

This lotion is tinted slightly (to offset the whitecast the SPF can leave) and the colour disappears to nothing on my face.  I do find the formula a bit thick for my liking so what I actaully do is mix a half pea-size amount of my Body Shop Vitamin E Serum with about a pea size amount of the Clinique lotion and I have a consistency that is a bit more “lotion-y” and easier to spread and absorb into my skin.  I don’t find this overly shiny or greasy looking (with some SPF facial lotions this can be a problem) which is awesome.

Trying to blend this onto my face alone I actually find quite difficult. It does have a thicker consitency (like you would expect a sunscreen product would have). So “diluting” it with my vitamin E serum really helps me apply this evenly and easily.

As with all Clinique products this is fragrance-free.

I purchased this for $26 Cdn.

I give the Clinique City Block Sheer Oil-free face protector: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried this product?  Like or dislike?

Thanks for reading!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Clinique City Block Sheer Oil-Free Face Protector SPF 25

  1. I haven’t tried this one, but I tend to buy moisturizers with SPF included as well. My sun screen is from La Roche Posay and up unitl now I’m liking it. Just a quick question, is this sunscreen available in different colors, or is it just in a ‘standard’ version? have a nice day

Comments are closed.