Stella by Stella McCartney

I’ve had my eye (or rather nose?) on the Stella by Stella McCartney fragrance for quite some time now, so I finally bit the bullet and purchased it! With the warmer months, I figured this would be the perfect time to bask in something a bit lighter (I’ve been obsessed with and mostly wearing the Elizabeth and James Nirvana in Black over the winter months). Although E&J Nirvana in White is a lighter scent compared to the Black, I still wanted something a bit different.

Now, I am sooo not into roses — the flower or its’ scent. And when I found out that Stella’s inspiration and foundation was the rose flower I completely turned my nose up to even the thought of the perfume.  But I’ve heard so many good things about the fragrance — many women really like it for a day or evening fragrance option.

A few trips into Sephora over a period of time, I headed straight for the perfume section to spritz Stella on my wrists and shopped around the store to wait for the scent to settle on me.

Initially, I definitely get a whiff of notes of rose and peony flower.  After a few minutes the mandarin note kicks in and it starts to smell quite fresh and subtly citrusy.  This scent of faint rose and mandarin stays on my skin for the majority of the time I have it on. Finally, the amber note gives it a bit of an edge but somehow smells soft and fresh in combination with everything.  At the very end of the day, it fades into an almost powdery scent which smells clean and comforting. I think this scent suits me quite nicely and I can’t stop smelling my wrists! I would say the scent does fade substantially after about 6 hours, but I’m left with a soft, fresh, classy and clean scent.

For someone like me who typically hates the intense, heady scent of roses, Stella’s combination with and balance of other scents is completely unexpected and it totally works. I am definitely going to love this fragrance for years to come. A perfect perfume for day, evening, and all seasons really.

I purchased the Eau de Parfum vapour spray for $26 Cdn.  The “full-size” bottles range in price from $60-$114 Cdn.

I give Stella by Stella McCartney: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried this perfume?  Like or dislike?  What’s your favourite perfume?

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Stella by Stella McCartney

Comments are closed.