Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Hey Pretties!

I don’t know how they do it, but Maybelline has knocked it out of the park again with this new Lash Sensational Mascara. I should be surprised though — the majority of my mascara collection and favourites are Maybelline brand (and L’oreal mascaras too. FYI – L’oreal owns Maybelline, so I’m not surprised of my love for mascaras under these two brands!) (Except for the L’oreal Miss Manga mascara… didn’t impress me.)

According to the Maybelline website it decribes the mascara as follows:

Our volume fanning brush with 10 layers of bristles captures and unfolds layer upon layer of lashes for the new full fan look

Product Details

New Lash Sensational Mascara from Maybelline New York. Our first volume fanning brush with 10 layers of bristles captures, reveals and unfolds every last lash. Liquid Ink formula coats from all sides. For a sensational full fan look.

For Best Results

1) Use inner curve to reach the roots of lashes
2) Follow through tips of lashes with longer bristles to fan out

This mascara definitely gives my lashesΒ a lot of volume and length. With about two coats (only using the inner curved side with shorter bristles) it really does pull my lashes from the root and coats them into long, fanned-out lashes with no clumps.

I really like the design of the brush; although Maybelline suggests to use the inner curve first and then the outer curve to fan out the lashes even more to create more length, I honestly find I get great results by just using the inner curve. For me, using a mascara brush that is curved the opposite direction is awkward and doesn’t feel like I’m grabbing onto the lashes anyway. So I have left this step out. But when I did try to use it, I would say yes, it did manage to give my lashes that extra “oomph” in length.

The only gripe I have with this mascara is that it has a tendency to flake. Rubbing my eye will result in flakes; however even when I don’t, by the end of my work day I’ll find a few flakes on my upper cheek. Not a big deal but a bit of an annoyance.

With this waterproof version, I found this wears very well throughout the day (except for the minimal flaking).Β My lashes held their curl and volume as well.

I bought this on sale at SDM for $6.99 Cdn.

I give the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried this mascara? What do you think — like or dislike?

Thanks for reading!

πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

  1. Hey πŸ™‚

    Oh wow, I didn’t know that Maybelline had another mascara out.
    It seems really nice, tho, I don’t know, the brush surely does looks promising.

    Loved your review and the photos you took. πŸ™‚

    xx

  2. Pingback: February Favourites 2015 | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.