Maybelline Master Prime by Face Studio Face Primer – Blur and Illuminate

Hey Pretties!

Primers are one of those products that sometimes get an upturned nose:  “Oh I don’t need that” or “I don’t have time for that extra step!”. I was one of those people a loooooong time ago. But as an avid foundation wearer a well-formulated primer can make your foundation apply and look so much better than without it. I don’t see it being an extra step; I consider it a necessary one in my makeup routine.

I was interested to try out the new line of primers developed by Maybelline – Master Prime Face Primers by their Facestudio line. The primers come in three formulas: Blur and Smooth; Blur and Illuminated; and Blur and Redness Control. I decided to buy and try the Blur and Illuminate primer first.

According to the Maybelline website, the primers are described as follows:

Visually blurs skin tone imperfections and smoothes fine lines. Primes skin for even makeup application. Weightless, water-based, non-oily.

Now blur away your skin concerns and prime your way to perfect with Master Prime by Face Studio from Maybelline New York.

THE HOW: Our face primer has ultra-blurring spheres in 3 weightless, water-based formulas, fight your biggest skin concerns.

THE WOW: Skin looks flawless, yet feels fresh and light.

Blur + Smooth – Smoothes uneven skin texture,
Blur + Illuminate – Brightens dull complexions, protects with SPF30
Blur + Redness Control – Evens tone and controls redness

Dermatologist and allergy tested. Suitable for sensitive skin and all skin types. Does not clog pores.

For Best Results:  Wear alone or under makeup to refine wear.

For those of you that have been following me for a while, you know I’m head over heels for the Benefit POREfessional primer — the texture and consistency of that is something I like to work with and really does help to give my foundation a good base to apply on smoothly. The Maybelline Primer is very different in texture — it’s basically like a very lightweight lotion, which I quite like as well; it actually feels like I’m adding some extra hydration to my skin after my regular moisturizer.

The Blur and Illuminate formula is lightweight and has a slight pink sheen. I was a bit apprehensive about the pink sheen, but once I blend into my face, no pink really shows. What it does do however, is that it leaves a very dewy, illuminating effect on the skin (hence the name suggests!). I wouldn’t say that it evens out my skin tone (I wouldn’t ever wear this on its’ own), but it does leave bare skin looking quite glowy and healthy-ish.

I let this set for a few minutes before applying my foundation. To put it to the test, I used my Maybelline Matte and Poreless foundation — I wanted to see if the “illumination” effect of the primer would still show through an application of a more matte, medium-full coverage foundation. I have to say that YES! I suspect that if I was to build up this foundation on top of this primer more heavily, I’d lose the effect of the primer underneath, but with my normal amount of foundation (light to medium coverage, one layer) the primer seemed to sheer the matte foundation out a little bit. I really liked the finish it gave my skin.

On a different note, I did try this primer underneath a different foundation with a completely different formula (includes a serum; a more hydrating formula) — I have to say that this combination didn’t work out that great. My skin felt a bit tacky after and even long after application and didn’t seem to set/dry down properly; it left my skin feeling tacky and looking shiny.

In any case, you should should definitely give time for this primer to set onto your skin for I’d say, at least 1-2 minutes before applying foundation.

I have yet to try this primer out underneath my other foundation formulas to see if the combination works out. I hope so, because this is a pretty decent primer for a drugstore option. It has kept my makeup in place and doesn’t feel heavy on my skin!

Eventually I would like to try out the other two formulas!

I purchased this from Shoppers Drug Mart for $14.99 Cdn.

I give the Maybelline Master Prime by Face Studio Face Primer in Blur and Illuminate: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried any of the Maybelline Primers?  Like or dislike?  I’d love to hear your review!

Thanks for reading!

🙂

14 thoughts on “Maybelline Master Prime by Face Studio Face Primer – Blur and Illuminate

  1. I haven’t tried this one and have sometimes contrasting feelings about primers. Good quality foundations should stick to skin and behave perfectly even without primers. I have them of course, as most of us and I apply them as well, but to be honest, when I’m not wearing them there’s not this huge difference, like when you forget a lip liner or a mascara, for instance…so I’m always asking myself, ‘are they worth the purchase or not?’….mhm…

    • Yes I agree.. if the foundation is well formulated enough there should be no need for a primer. The one foundation that I find that I don’t have to neccesarily use a primer is the MAC Studio Fluid – that foundation is medium-full coverage and formula is pretty long-lasting and goes on nicely as long as my skin is prepped properly (i.e. well-moisturized). With the majority of my foundations being drugstore, I find that primers are better for them. I will never be without a primer! Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rimmel Lasting Finish 25hr Foundation | Try Me Pretty

  3. Pingback: L’oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.