NYX Butter Gloss and Blush

Hey Pretties!

So, since starting my beauty blog, I had never heard of the NYX Cosmetics brand. I know right? What kind of weirdo am I? Well, since reading many reviews on NYX products and seeing my Instagram account flooded with NYX photos, I thought I’d better go see what all the hype is about around NYX!

I picked up, what seems to be, the most popular NYX products in their range — a butter gloss and a blush. The butter gloss I have is in the shade Tiramisu and the blush I have is in the shade Pinched.

NYX Butter Gloss in Tiramisu

The NYX Butter Glosses come in a crazy amount of shades, but for my first taste I opted for one of the more natural/nude shades – Tiramisu. This is a nude-pink shade, which I think would compliment any skintone if looking to acheive a very natural look. First off, the scent of the butter gloss is very sweet! Like candy or vanilla, but not sickly sweet. Once on my lips, I don’t really taste anything. The formula is very smooth and quite glossy, but not overly glassy glossy, if you know what I mean.

It glides on very smooth and stays on pretty well. Not sticky feeling at all. I’ve worn this alone and it wears nicely over bare lips; however I prefer to use this shade over other lipsticks, preferably matte ones to give a nice, natural sheen to my lips. The formula is nice in that you can wear a light, sheer layer or you can build it up to make it more of a medium-opaque finish on your lips.

The applicator is your typical doe-foot which makes application easy peasy.

I believe I bought this for around $5 Cdn at my local London Drugs retailer.

I would definitely repurchase and I am already anxious to try out some new colours!

I give the NYX Butter Gloss: a STANDING OVATION

NYX Powder Blush in Pinched

I am in love with this blush. Firstly, the formula: it’s silky and glides on smooth onto the cheeks. It’s very pigmented, so careful with picking this up with your blusher brush! The shade I have is called Pinched — it’s a medium pink colour with a very subtle (barely there) gold shimmer dispersed throughout.

I believe there are about 24 shades in this range, however, I only came across 5 shades at Target (darn!). The colour on my medium skin tone gives me a natural flush, but with the right amount of pink pop.

Every time I use this blush, I am amazed at how long it lasts on my skin. By the end of my 8-hour work day… through humidity… through sweat… this blush stays put! Over top any foundation or base I use, this seems to hold up well and long-wearing.

I bought this at Target for around $7 Cdn and I would definitely repurchase — although I can see this little pot of blusher lasting me a very long time, given the high quality of pigmentation and long-wear formula!!  What a deal! But I really want to pick up more shades!

I give the NYX Powder Blush: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried any of these NYX products?  Like or dislike?  What other NYX products have you tried and what do you recommend for me to try out?

Thanks for reading!!

🙂

7 thoughts on “NYX Butter Gloss and Blush

  1. Wish you posted this a week earlier as I just purchased a Smashbox blush at Shoppers. I’ll definitely try this product once this blush runs out!

  2. Pingback: On The Rotation: Blushes | Try Me Pretty

  3. Pingback: On The Rotation: Lipglosses | Try Me Pretty

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Beauty Faves of 2014 and Thank You! | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.