The Body Shop’s All-in-One Instablur

Hi Pretties!

I am obsessed with The Body Shop skincare products and I’ve got a few of their makeup products as well that I really do enjoy (their blushes are amazing!). When I ran out of primer recently, I thought it would be a good time to try out something new. I’ve heard about the InstaBlur primer and with The Body Shop having a buy 2 get 1 free promotion, I thought what better time to buy!

IMG_5315

On The Body Shop website, the product is described as follows:

This all-new face perfector blurs imperfections, giving you flawless photo-perfect skin in an instant! With Community Fair Trade marula oil. Five action perfector:

  • Shine Controlling 12h
  • Reduces appearance of pores
  • Blemish Hiding
  • Complexion Unifying
  • Make-up Extending

Out of the 5 claims above, I’d say it definitely lives up to shine control, reducing appearance of pores, complexion unifying and make-up extending. Pretty good, I’d say!

I’ve been used to using very silky, silicone-based primers (for example GOSH, Sephora brand). I’ve recently been loving a more cream texture primers (Dr. Brandt, Benefit’s POREfessional). I’ve had some pretty good success with both formulas (but more so the cream ones). When I swatched Instablur on my hand at The Body Shop, I noticed immediately that the texture seemed to fit both a silicone and cream feel. I believe the formula consists of Vitamin E and powder pigments which give it this type of consistency. And with the inclusion of Marula Oil, it makes it very smooth and easy to blend. It is has a very, very slight powdery smell, but verging on fragrance-free.

IMG_5316

About two little pea size dots gives me the coverage I’m looking for — in small circular motions, I put a thin, even layer all over my face. Once applied, I definitely notice a “blurring” effect — it reduces the appearance of my pores and leaves a velvety, semi-matte, smoothed out finish. It does not feel like I have anything on my skin.

I let it set for about a minute and then proceed to apply my liquid foundation, which goes on very smooth with no sort of interference or cakiness from the InstaBlur. I actually really really like the way my foundation looks with the InstaBlur underneath — it gives it an almost air-brushed finish.

During this hot, humid weather we’ve been having, the Instablur has most definitely extended my makeup wear and has kept the shine in my T-zone at bay for a much longer time.

I am thoroughly impressed with the formula and the performance.

For a 25ml tube at $22 Cdn, it may seem a bit much, but I say this is a pretty good investment and I would definitely repurchase. The Body Shop always has promotions going on so I’m bound to get a great deal on this someday!

Have you tried InstaBlur? Like or dislike? I’d love to hear your thoughts!!

I give The Body Shop All-in-One InstaBlur primer: a STANDING OVATION

Thanks for reading Pretties!

🙂

 

10 thoughts on “The Body Shop’s All-in-One Instablur

  1. Thanks for this review! I am thinking I will have to try this sometime. I wonder if it works on fine lines too? lol. 🙂 xox

  2. How does it hold up on blemishes and used as a conceler instead of a primer? I have some acne scars that are slightly fading and some not so much, I also don’t wear full make up everyday, do you think it works well on it’s own?

    • I myself, don’t really have many acne scars or blemishes, so I couldn’t tell you honestly how this would ‘conceal’. I would say that if someone had very good skin (minimal to no scars, blemishes) this would be very nice on its’ own as it gives a soft focus effect on the skin.

      I would suggest trying a sample of it to see if it’s something that would be enough ‘concealing’ for you.

      Hope that helps and thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: Rimmel Stay Matte Primer | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.