Dr. Brandt pores no more pore refiner primer

Hey Pretties!

Don’t you love samples? I do. Especially when it comes to high-end, expensive makeup/skincare, it’s always great when you can try a product out first before committing your hard-earned cash into something that you may end up not liking. I received a sample of the Dr. Brandt pores no more pore refiner primer from Sephora and I’ve recently used up the whole package:

Dr. Brandt pores no more pore refining primer sample size (my nailpolish happens to match the package, ha!)

Dr. Brandt pores no more pore refining primer sample size (my nailpolish happens to match the package, ha!)

On the Sephora website, it’s described as follows:

What it is:
An effective primer that instantly mattifies shine and minimizes pores. What it is formulated to do:
A cult favorite for six years, pores no more® pore refiner primer is Dr. Brandt’s quick fix for flawless, photo-ready skin at any age and during any season. A combination of treatment and cosmetic properties, this miracle base creates the perfect canvas for your makeup application. It acts as an invisible barrier to prevent makeup from clogging pores. This velvety primer absorbs excess oil, blurs fine lines and imperfections, and is resistant to sweat and humidity, improving the longevity of your makeup. Your skin will look and feel smoother, more uniform, and perfectly shine-free.
What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates
What else you need to know:
This primer is ideal for oily/combination skin, but perfectly adapts to normal to dry complexions who desire pore perfection. It is recommended for anyone that wants to prime and treat or anyone concerned with visible pores.
The little sample I got lasted me about five applications. It has a slight tint to it, but I suspect it wouldn’t bear any colour on anyone’s skintone, as it blended in almost invisible on my skin. It has a very subtle scent of tea tree oil, which I don’t mind. It has a light, creamy texture that blends super seamlessly into the skin.
Each time I applied this primer, I couldn’t believe how much it smoothed out my skin. I’ve tried many primers and this one definitely comes out on top (so far). My pores were completely minimized and my skin looked super matte and soft. It totally blurred out my fine lines and evened out my skin’s texture. It provided an awesome, velvety canvas on which I applied my foundation on top. I almost hesitated each time I put on foundation because my skin looked almost perfect with just this primer on!
My foundation looked flawless on top of this primer. As far as longevity, I would say yes, this primer helped to keep my foundation on longer throughout the day and it seemed to make my face less oily throughout the day as well.
I don’t reach for primer every time I wear a base. However, this is one that I would use all the time if I had it in my makeup stash. At $55 for 1 oz. though, it’s one product that would definitely be an indulgence for me. I have primers for much cheaper (GOSH, The Body Shop) that do a great job — maybe not as great as this, but for the price, good enough. But the Dr. Brandt primer is definitely on my wish list for a really awesome primer.
I give the Dr. Brandt pores no more pore refiner primer: a HIGH FIVE
Have you tried this primer?  Like or dislike?  What’s your favourite primer and why?
Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!
🙂
