La Roche-Posay Discovery Kit

Hey Pretties!

I’ve heard a lot of good things about the brand La Roche-Posay, so when I spotted a discovery kit at Shoppers Drug Mart for only FIVE BUCKS, I grabbed one immediately! There were three different “versions” to choose from depending on skin needs, however, I can’t remember what they were other than the one I picked up: for dehydrated skin. All La Roche-Posay products are formulated with sensitive skin people in mind — although, I have read/seen reviews by others that do not necessarily have sensitive skin (and neither do I) who have tried, used and enjoyed using the La Roche-Posay line geared towards their skin care needs (eg. dehydrated, anti-aging. redness, etc.)

This kit came with 3 mini-size versions of  the Hydraphase Intense Light moisturizer (3ml), Thermal Spring Water (50ml) and Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser (30ml):

La Roche-Posay Discovery Kit for $5

First off, I love the packaging of this brand. No frills, simple, and clean. All of these products are fragrance-free.

Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser

This product was a bit strange to me. I had to actually look up how to use it because it wasn’t clear. As a cleanser, you think, okay you wet your face, apply the cleanser and wash away, right? Well, what prompted me to do a bit of research on this before I tried it out for myself was my sister had also picked up a kit and mentioned that when she used the cleanser (in the traditional way), it felt a bit weird – didn’t lather up and when rinsed off, it left a bit of a cool slick feeling of the product left over on her face.

Apparently, this product is meant to be applied in a circular motion all over a dry face then you use a cotton pad to wipe the product away (or rinse off, optional). I tried it this way and I found it to be a pretty good make-up remover before going in and cleansing again with my regular facial cleanser. It has a very light and milky texture. I do like this, however, I’ve used this subsequently only as an eye make-up remover.

I will definitely continue to use up this little bottle for eye make-up removal only and only if I have nothing else around to use. Not a big fan of this one. As far as purchasing a full-size? No.

I give the Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser: a THUMBS DOWN

Thermal Spring Water

This is basically a face mist that provides a refreshing spritz for skin that is sensitive and/or irritated by outside factors (e.g. sun, skin treatments (facials), etc.). Now, I haven’t really bought in to these facial mists, but I can see how this little thing can be handy. I’ve carried this in my purse since purchasing the kit and I have pulled it out a few times when I felt a little ugh under the heat of the sun…ahhh… refreshing!

I’m pretty sure I won’t be purchasing a full-size version of this, but in the meantime for the remainder of the summer, this will be a staple in my purse (perfect size!) for those moments when I need a little spritz of cool!

I give the Thermal Sprin Water: a SHOULDER SHRUG

Hydraphase Intense Light moisturizer

This is a very lightweight moisturizer designed for dehydrated, combination, sensitive skin types. I really like this moisturizer!  Such a disappointment that it only comes in a teeny, tiny 3ml tube. Another disappointment is that it doesn’t have an SPF — I just make sure my foundation or makeup base has an SPF when I wear this lotion.

I find that although this is very light, a dime-size amount can cover my entire face and keep it feeling hydrated all day long. It is non-greasy and absorbs so quickly and nicely into the skin. I’ve tried this overtop the daytime serum I’m currently using and also on top of freshly cleansed skin — results have been great in terms of hydration and softer feeling skin.

I would consider purchasing the full-size of this moisturizer. And with a $5 off coupon included in this discovery kit, this will come in handy when/if I decide to purchase this or any other La Roche-Posay product!

I give the Hydraphase Intense Light moisturizer: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried any La Roche-Posay products?  Likes and/or dislikes?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

 

5 thoughts on “La Roche-Posay Discovery Kit

  1. Wow, five bucks is definitely a steal. At least you don’t have to feel bad about purchasing, even if you didn’t love everything. I’ve only used one of their redness serums, and it works amazing for me (came with the Thermal Spring Water for free!).

    • I agree! This gave me a good little introduction into the brand and an idea of what sort of products they have. Which serum do you use? Is it for rosacea or just occasional redness?

      I’m loving the Thermal Spring Water this summer!

Comments are closed.