Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks

Hello Pretties!

I have a problem. I am a lip product addict. You wouldn’t think it because 90% of the time I just wear some good ol’ lip balm. When I feel like my face needs a little pick-me-up is when I’ll reach for a lippie.

As lippie addicts know, we can’t pass up a good deal at the drugstore. From my experience, if I can get a decent lip product at $6.99 or less, I’d say that’s a steal. And I don’t know about you, but when I find a good deal, 3 or 4 colours seem to always find their way into my shopping basket. That’s exactly what happened when I came across the Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks at SDM for $4.99 each. I picked up 3 shades, out of the 21 offered:

Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks

Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks

On the website the lipsticks are described as follows:

Luscious lips made easy!

Express your true self with Rouge Xpression lipstick! Rouge Xpression has a dual personality that will delight your lips; it has a moisturizing Maxi-Lip complex that hydrates your lips’ delicate skin and adds sexy volume.

Replete with avocado and Omega-6 oils, its formula prevents dry, cracked lips and restores moisture. Its creamy, velvety and non-sticky texture ensures total comfort. And with so many vibrant colours, biting into life will never have looked so sexy!

Hypoallergenic and perfume-free.

Top to Bottom: 802 Delight; 752 Couture; 950 Delirium

Top to Bottom: 802 Delight; 752 Couture; 950 Delirium

The colour selection is pretty good – 21 colours in total, ranging from nudes, pinky-nudes, pinks, mauves, orange and a few brighter and deeper reds. They come in either a Pearl or Creme formula. They do feel very moisturizing and hydrating on my lips — even after they’ve worn off after a few hours, my lips don’t feel dried out. These are fragrance-free and gluten-free. Very highly pigmented — you don’t need many coats to get a good wash of colour.

These lippies glide on smooth and leave a glossy, velvety-satin finish to my lips.

Left to Right: 802 Delight; 752 Couture; 950 Delirium

Left to Right: 802 Delight; 752 Couture; 950 Delirium

 

802 Delight

Wearing 802 Delight

Wearing 802 Delight

 

The first colour I chose was 802 Delight, in a cream finish. It’s a pink coral shade, but on my lips it leans to more of a brighter pink shade. When I build it up it’s very vibrant, but I like to wear it by swiping a couple times then blending it in with my finger to soften out the colour. I can see myself wearing this when I want a light pop of pink.

752 Couture

Wearing 752 Couture

Wearing 752 Couture

The second colour I chose was 752 Couture, in a pearl finish, but would say this is more of cream finish; there’s nothing especially pearly about it. This one I would describe as a medium rosy brown, leaning a bit more red on my own lips; on my lips and skintone it definitely adds a deeper tone to my natural lip colour. Quite flattering, I think this would be a great lip colour for autumn or winter.

950 Delirium

Wearing 950 Delirium

Wearing 950 Delirium

The last colour I chose was 950 Delirium, in a pearl finish.  Again, it’s listed as a pearl finish, but I would disagree — this goes on very creamy and leaves a nice glossy sheen to the lips, without any sort of obvious iridescence. This shade is a bit of a stretch for me as it’s quite a bright orange shade, but a good one for me to get used to wearing bolder colours. I probably won’t build this up too bold; muting it down by blotting with a tissue is still a nice way to wear it without skimping on the colour.

Overall, I like the formula of these lipsticks — very smooth and creamy, great pigmentation (a little goes a long way) and they feel amazingly comfortable, non-sticky on the lips. The colour selection is great and packaging is simple and sleek in their matte, navy blue cases. I would definitely recommend giving these a go!

I give the Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried any of the Marcelle Rouge Xpression lipsticks? Like/dislike? Which colour do you think looks the best on me?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Marcelle Rouge Xpression Lipsticks

  1. I like all of these on you, and that formula looks fantastic. I’ve been looking into these lately as I hear they are gluten free (my moms thing, not mine). At that price I’d grab some to try myself too! Hard to find Marcelle that low in Canada, good find!

    • Thank you! I’m still a bit shy to wear the orange shade anywhere but while I’m at home, but in time I’ll get the courage to sport it! Yeah, I never really paid attention to the Marcelle brand before – I’m curious to try some other products.

Comments are closed.