Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

Hi Pretties!

I’ve been meaning to do a review on the Sephora Primal Instinct palette for the longest time but my other product reviews seem to have bumped this ditty to the bottom of the list. But let’s check it out now!

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

For a few months I was on an eyeshadow kick, buying singles and quads from the drugstore to expiriment. After reading and watching so many glowing reviews on higher-end eyeshadow palettes, I decided to pick one up for myself. Granted, this is no where near the price of a Too Faced or Urban Decay palette, but for someone who is still expirmenting with colours, application and technique, I thought the Sephora Primal Instincts palette was a good place to start. And I lucked out at purchasing this for $18 on sale (regular $34) at Sephora.

UNFORTUNATELY, I don’t think Sephora sells this palette any longer — I just checked their website and couldn’t find it!

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

 

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

I like the packaging — it’s a sleek, animal printed case with a snap closure and feels sturdy. It has a big mirror that makes it nice to hold up close when applying shadow. It doesn’t come with a brush.

In the above photo, here are the shadows, finish, and description:

Top Row (left to right):

  • Univeral Beige No.8:  matte, light beige
  • Sand:  satin/shimmer; beige
  • Gold:  satin; coppery gold
  • Apricot:  satin; pinky peach champagne

Bottom Row (left to right):

  • Camel:  satin; rosy brown champagne
  • Bronze:  satin; true bronze
  • Mahogany:  satin; brown with subtle purple tone
  • Deep Burgundy:  satin/shimmer; black reddish purple

Top Row (left to right):

  • Tea Rose:  shimmer; muted mauve
  • Taupe:  matte/satin; dark taupey grey
  • Matte Brown:  matte; dark brown

Bottom Row (left to right):

  • Plum:  satin; plum
  • Steel:  satin; blue with subtle purple undertone
  • Must Have No.6:  matte; black
Top to bottom: Universal Beige No. 8; Sand; Gold; Apricot

Top to bottom: Universal Beige No. 8; Sand; Gold; Apricot

 

Top to Bottom: Tea Rose; Taupe; Matte Brown

Top to Bottom: Tea Rose; Taupe; Matte Brown

 

Top to Bottom: Camel; Bronze; Mahogany; Deep Burgundy

Top to Bottom: Camel; Bronze; Mahogany; Deep Burgundy

 

Top to Bottom: Plum; Steel; Must Have No.6

Top to Bottom: Plum; Steel; Must Have No.6

As you can see, there’s a good variety of basic colours, perfect for a beginner like me. I would say all of the 14 shadows in this palette deliver decent colour payoff and decent staying power (with an eye primer). In most of the shadows, I notice either some silver or gold shimmer particles — very, very subtle; nothing that would make you look like you’ve got disco ball eyelids. Just enough to create a bit of sheen when the light hits it.

There are only 2 shadows that seem to have a lesser than desired formula (i.e. major crumbling/fallout): Tea Rose and Steel. It’s a bummer… tea rose is the shadow in this palette that I’ve used the most so far, just love the warm pink colour! The texture and formula of all the rest are smooth and do not crumble at all.

I’d have to say my favourite shadows in this palette, for me are: Tea Rose, Taupe, Mahogany, Deep Burgundy and Plum.

At $18 on sale, I’d say this is a pretty good palette. I don’t wear shadows very often, but this definitely provides me with the variety of colours that I’d be most comfortable wearing on any day.

I give the Sephora Primal Instinct palette: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried this palette? Have you tried any of the Sephora eyeshadows? What eyeshadow palette is your favourite?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Sephora Primal Instincts Palette

Comments are closed.