Monthly Favourites: May

Hi Pretties!

May Favourites!: The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist; Aveeno Positively Radiant Toner; Sally Hershberger Finishing Cream; and Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

May Favourites!: The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist; Aveeno Positively Radiant Toner; Sally Hershberger Finishing Cream; and Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

I’ve been at this blog for 4 months now and I just realized I have never done a Monthly Favourites post. So here’s my first instalment for the month of May!

Each month I will pick ONE item (eek, only one??!!) to thumbs up or thumbs down for you in the following categories: Skin, Face, Body, Hair. I’ll also throw in a Random favourite (non-beauty related) if there’s something I feel like I must must must share with you!

FOR SKIN:  AVEENO POSITIVELY RADIANT TONER

Aveeno Positively Radiant Toner

Aveeno Positively Radiant Toner

It’s hard to find an alcohol-free toner and when I stumbled across this one, I snatched it up right away. I’ve had good experience with the Aveeno Positively Radiant Day and Night Lotion (click here to read my review on those); I had never thought to give the toner a try before. Glad I did. Toning is a step that most people “don’t have time for” — I was one of those! But since using this toner and others in the last 3 months, I can appreciate how a good toner can “prep” my skin before layering on all the other good skincare stuff. The Aveeno Positively Radiant toner is very gentle, does not dry out my skin, and leaves my face with an extra boost of freshness after cleansing.

I purchased this on sale at SDM for $7.99. I give the Aveeno Positively Radiant Toner: a HIGH FIVE

FOR FACE:  SONIA KASHUK CHIC LUMINOSITY GLOW POWDER

Sonia Kashuck Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

Sonia Kashuck Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

This powder was a recent purchase for me, about 2 weeks ago I’d say, but I think it deserves its’ spot in my May Favourites! This powder is stark white but with a few swirls onto my big, fluffy kabuki brush and a sweep across my entire face, this powder sets my makeup with translucency and a certain glow and radiance. I love this powder!

I purchased this on sale at Target for $12.99. I give the Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder: a STANDING OVATION

FOR BODY:  THE BODY SHOP COCONUT BODY MIST

The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist

The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist

Ok. Who doesn’t love the smell of coconuts? During the warmer months, I love spritzing this onto my pulse points and in my hair for a whiff of coconutty goodness! Being a body spray, the scent does not linger that long, but well enough for a few hours. I believe this comes in an Eau de Toilette/Parfum version, which I would assume have longer staying power. But for a light spritz of scent in the warmer months, this is my go-to scent for the summer!

I purchased this on sale for $6 (regular price $12) at The Body Shop. I give The Body Shop Coconut Body Mist: a HIGH FIVE

FOR HAIR:  SALLY HERSHBERGER WAVE CREAM

Sally Hershberger Finishing Cream for Wavy Hair

Sally Hershberger Finishing Cream for Wavy Hair

Many people don’t know that I have naturally wavy hair as I’ve made it a habit to straighten my hair almost every day for the last fifteen-some years. Problem is, my hair isn’t “nice” wavy; it’s “weird” wavy, and most times even when I want to leave it au natural, it just looks like a messy, wavy-ish, curly-ish monster of freaky looking something on top of my head. This wave cream, however, helps to de-frizz the waves and somewhat makes my hair look normal enough that I can go out in public. A little bit of this goes a long way — about a pea-size rubbed between my hands and then smoothed over my waves, gets rid of flyaways and gives definition to sections of waves/curls. It does not weigh my fine/thin hair down (a big plus), it leaves a very nice sheen (not greasy) shine to my hair and it’s really great for sectioning out the waves for definition. AND it smells like a tropical island — of mostly coconuts! So good. Sometimes, I’ll even smooth this over my freshly straightened hair to get rid of flyaways too.

No word of a lie, I probably purchased this tube about 4 years ago and it’s only halfway done (granted I don’t use it everyday). But well worth the $12.99 (I think?) that I paid for it at SDM. Unfortunately, I think they may have discontinued this product — I’ve been searching for it for the last few months and cannot find it anywhere! Bummer for that.

I give the Sally Hershberger Wave Cream: a STANDING OVATION

RANDOM FAVOURITE:  STOCKING FOOTSIES

Stocking footsies! Not sure what they're formally called, but whatever!

Stocking footsies! Not sure what they’re formally called, but whatever!

This is completely random but I had to share. I get really sweaty feet in the summer time and these have saved me from leaving sweaty footprints on any floor I step on. I have a few variations of these: I have them in nude and black which is great depending on what colour ballerina flats I’m wearing. They just make wearing flats a bit more comfortable for me. I also have some that don’t go up as high over my toes, to prevent them from showing. I think I have about 6 pairs of these funny looking things. I love them! I got these particular ones from Winners — a 3-pack for $5.99 — what a steal! But you can find variations of these footsies in any department store or mall.

I give stocking footsies: a STANDING OVATION

What will my June favourites be?  I don’t know!!  We’ll both find out next month!

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!

🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Favourites: May

  1. That coconut body spray sounds delectable! I use those little footie nylons inside new flats when breaking them in to ward off blisters for as long as I can, every bit helps!

    • The spray IS delectable! Anything coconut is :). Ha, I wasn’t sure if I was even going to mention the nylons… kind of a weird random favourite… but they were the first thing that came to mind that I really really love this month!

Comments are closed.