Skincare Review: Hydraluron, Pepta-Bright and Retinol Reface by Indeed Labs

Hello Pretties!

If you read my morning and nighttime skincare routine posts, there were a few products that I promised to do a combined review on — Hydraluron, Pepta-Bright and Retinol Reface by Indeed Labs. So here it is!

From L to R: Retinol Reface, Hydraluron and Pepta-Bright

From L to R: Retinol Reface, Hydraluron and Pepta-Bright

Hydraluron

This gel-serum is very coveted in the beauty blogosphere that I could not NOT try this out. And you know what? I’m glad I picked it up because I think it’s performed really well for me after about 2 months of use. Essentially this contains hyluronic acid, an ingredient that holds 1,000 times its weight in water. That means that when you put this on your face before you put on your moisturizer, it makes your moisturizer “stick” better to your face and makes it work better, by adding that extra boost of hydration to your skin.

This right off the bat plumps up my skin and makes it super soft. This has restored the moisture in my skin, better than if I had continued to use my moisturizer alone. This doesn’t really have a smell to it and the consistency is a transparent light gel formula. I usually use one pea-size drop for my face after using Pepta-Bright and right before my moisturizer.

I know that there are Hydraluron sheet masks available – curious to try those.

Pepta-Bright

This is a cream/serum formulation — very light and easily absorbed into my skin. About a pea-size drop is enough for my entire face. This product claims to even skintone, lighten hyperpigmentation, promote radiance, prevent formation of future dark spots and more. I’ve been using this for a couple months now and I really don’t see much of a difference. I think the trick with this one is to continue on with the product for a longer period of time to see changes.

It has a slight weird smell, sort of a faint chemical smell, but nothing that offends or lingers around for too long.

Retinol Reface

Retinol is a form of vitamin A and is considered one of the best anti-aging ingredients you can put on your skin. Retinol can help to diminish fine lines, hyperpigmentation and wrinkles. It can also help to minimize pore size, unclogs pores, helps with acne and improves overall skintone. As we age, collegen, which are the building blocks of our skin, break down. Using retinol speeds up the skin’s cell turnover which naturally slows down as we get older.

I’ve incorporated this product into my p.m. routine for the last couple months and using it only in the evening. The first time I used it, I broke out in a couple spots on my chin. (They say there is some adjustment period for some people to get used to the retinol – can cause redness, dry patches, breakouts, etc. at first but with longer time use, skin will adapt and less side effects). No big deal. I continued on with using it every other night for the first week and then every night since then with no issues.

This has no smell and is a light lotion formula that absorbs super fast and easy into the skin. Retinol is considered one of those anti-ageing ingredients that is most effective over long-term use. I will continue to use this product (and maybe try out other retinol products in the future) to ensure I reap the benefits of this anti-aging powerhouse ingredient!

Top to bottom:

Top to bottom: Pepta-Bright, Retinol Reface, Hydraluron

I believe all Indeed Lab products are currently exclusive to Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada. I give all three products HIGH FIVES!

Have you tried any of these Indeed Lab products?  How about their other products?  Did you like/dislike them?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

6 thoughts on “Skincare Review: Hydraluron, Pepta-Bright and Retinol Reface by Indeed Labs

  1. Hi there,

    Out of the the pepta-bright or retinol reface, which one would you recommend is better for acne scars?

    Thanks,
    Nicola

    • Hi!

      Well, I haven’t used the pepta-bright on a consistent basis, but it’s goal is to brighten the skin and lessen discolouration. So for acne scars, I would assume the pepta-bright would be your best bet.. just remember a product like this could take weeks/months for results to happen.

      Retinol reface is a long-term anti-aging product that helps with wrinkles, fine lines, etc… and meant to be used over a long period of time for prevention of signs of aging. I’ve heard that retinol itself is used by those suffering from acne, so I’m not too versed in whether retinol actually would help acne scars. I found that if I used Retinol Reface every night, it actually made me break out a bit around my chin! I adjusted my application to about 3 times a week instead, only at night, and found I didn’t break out anymore.

      I hope that helps somewhat!

      Thanks for reading my review!

  2. Pingback: September Favourites | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.