Mini Sonia Kashuk Haul and Review

Hello Pretties!

I’ve been eyeing the Sonia Kashuk section in Target’s makeup aisle for quite some time, so I finally bit the bullet and picked up a few things. I had to restrain myself from picking up any more SK products — there are many I want to get my hands on to try! (which I will, oh you better believe it.)

My first Sonia Kashuk products! Clockwise from top: No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multipurpose Brush; Chic Luminosity Glow Powder; Lip Balm; and Matte Velvet Lip Crayon

My first Sonia Kashuk products! Clockwise from top: No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multipurpose Brush; Chic Luminosity Glow Powder; Moisture Luxe Tinted Lip Balm; and Velvety Matte Lip Crayon

First off, I have to say, I was completely sucked in by the SK packaging. So sleek and grown-up looking; very simple packaging and “high-end” looking for a drugstore line.

Initially, I was on on the hunt for a foundation/liquid base brush. I’ve only ever used my fingers to apply liquid base and I’ve tried one of those paintbrush style brushes, but found application to be streaky. As any true beauty blogger/addict does… I put on my research antennas on the “best” affordable foundation brush — and the SK No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multi-Purpose Brush came up on the radar.

Sonia Kashuk No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multi-Purpose Brush

Sonia Kashuk No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multi-Purpose Brush

Sonia Kashuk No.4 Synthetic Flat Top Multi-Purpose Brush

I’ve always been partial to using my fingers to apply liquid foundation/base — they’re the cheapest tools for makeup application! But I was curious to see what finish I could achieve by using a brush. In many of the tutorials I’ve watched where women use a brush to apply foundation, the finish is flawless, in most cases and I wanted to try this for myself. I’ve learned that every one has their own preference of what kind of brush to use, but having no luck myself with the paintbrush style, I thought I’d give a dense flat-top brush a go. And you know what? I like it.

I’ve used this brush twice now for foundation. I dot the foundation on my face and with the brush I stipple lightly to begin and then proceed to buff in the product in circular motions. The finish I get with foundation is completely flawless. I actually have to use LESS product to get this flawless, but still natural looking, look. The brush itself is very soft, tightly packed and dense and feels gentle, yet strong (like it’s getting the job done!) on my face.

At $15.79 Cdn, this is the most expensive makeup brush I’ve purchased. I know, I know.. I’m a cheapskate when it comes to tools and I know tools make all the difference! I get along quite well with my E.L.F brushes but I really wanted to invest more than I usually do (without spending $30+ or more on my first ‘quality’ brush). I’d say, this was a pretty good first investment for a foundation brush beginner like me.

Am I eyeing more of the SK brushes? Oh yeah.

I give the SK No.4 Synthetic Multi-Purpose Flat Top Brush: a STANDING OVATION

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Glow Powder

I knew nothing about this product. But look at it? Who wouldn’t wanna buy that? It just looks cool!

How neat is the pattern on this? Very!

How neat is the pattern on this? Very!

I was a little worried that this powder’s purpose was to serve only as a highlighter — which doesn’t necessarily interest me. There was no obvious description on the packaging that told me exactly how to use the powder, so I was taking a chance on it.

As soon as I got home, I jumped onto the SK website and looked up the product description for this powder: Sonia introduces a new illuminating formula that perfectly captures light for a smoother-looking complexion and lit-from-within glow. The croc-embossed pressed translucent powder combines the best features of baked, powder, cream and liquid formulas to awaken and refresh the skin for a bright, naturally polished finish.

I have to say.. this powder is sort of… magical. It really does give a “lit-from-within” glow to my skin, without making me look like a disco ball. There is no glitter in this powder, but such a subtle shimmer (teeny tiny silver specks) that translates into a glow. I promise you, you cannot see the specks once brushed all over your face. I use a big powder brush or a Kabuki brush to swirl the powder around and then sweep across my face. It takes care of shine where I need it and sets my makeup in place. However, after about 3.5 hours of wear, my T-zone started to look oily — but I’m not hung up on that because this product does not claim to combat oil for any period of time really. I will say, that even though I look a bit oily, there’s still something about my skin that looks radiant. Definitely a certain glow goin’ on.

I think the idea of this might be along the same lines as the Hourglass Ambient Lighting powders that are so raved about in the beauty blogosphere. But I’m not saying it’s a dupe, as I’ve never had the opportunity to try out any of the Hourglass powders myself.

It comes with a little brush and mirror on the underside of the compact. Mirror is great; I haven’t used the brush yet.

At $12.99 Cdn, I am very pleased that I took a chance on this! I won’t be surprised if I hit pan on this sooner than later 🙂

I give the SK Chic Luminosity Glow Powder: a STANDING OVATION

Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in No. 06 Berry Nude

Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in Berry Nude No.6

Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in Berry Nude No.6

In my bucket of lip products, I have only one matte lip product and it’s red. I’m not that confident (yet?) to pull off a full-on red lip in my everyday life, but I do like a matte formula. I did a little bit of pre-research on the SK Velvety Matte Lip Crayon and to my surprise I found that some beauty bloggers peg this to be a dupe for the NARS lip crayon. With the NARS being about 3 times more the price of this SK product what do I have to lose?

There’s about 8 colours to choose from — I opted for No.4 Berry Nude. I thought it would be the most wearable, every day shade for my skintone. And I was right! The colour of this on me is just right — a bit of a mauve, deep pink tone that just gives my lips look ‘richer’ colour.

Now, with matte lip products, you really have to make sure that your lips are exfoliated, prepped and moisturized beforehand to ensure that application is smooth and flawless. I was a bit nervous to put this on, knowing my lips weren’t in tip-top shape, but the formula of this is so smooth and velvety (as the name implies) and was not drying at all. I got through an entire 8-hour workday with this on my lips, applying once for a touch up after eating lunch and it felt great on my lips.

The only downside of this crayon is that it’s not self-sharpening. So make sure you have a dual-sharpener, as you’ll be using the bigger-sized one for this product.

At $7.59 Cdn, I will be back at Target for more!

I give the SK Velvety Matte Lip Crayon: a STANDING OVATION

Sonia Kashuk Moisture Luxe Tinted Lip Balm in Hint of Coral

Sonia Kashuk Moisture Luxe Tinted Lip Balm in Hint of Coral

Sonia Kashuk Moisture Luxe Tinted Lip Balm in Hint of Coral

Who doesn’t like a good lip balm with a sheer wash of colour? I can never resist. Of the four shades offered, I chose Hint of Coral — can’t go wrong with coral in the summer!

First thing I noticed — the smell. Eww. I dont’ know if it’s the formula, the actual lip gloss, or maybe the metal packaging, but it smells of metal and/or plastic. When I put this on my lips, the smell/taste seems to disappear, but applying it is not the most pleasant experience.

The formula of this is very, very sheer and light. It takes quite a few swipes across the lips to build up the colour, but it’s possible if that’s the look you want. I find that it is a very thin forumla, which makes for not a long-lasting product on the lips. Bummer. It is quite hydrating and the wash of colour is perfect for when I want something, but not too much on my lips. The colour is great, but for me, the colour is the only real plus about this product for me.

At $8.99 Cdn it’s a good deal for a decent product but I probably won’t repurchase because that weird smell and it’s weak, thin formulation.

I give the SK Moisture Luxe Tinted Lip Balm: a SHOULDER SHRUG with a bit of a THUMBS DOWN

Three STANDING OVATIONS out of four – I’d say a pretty good first time introduction to some Sonia Kashuk products! I’ve already got my eye on a few more brushes, the cream and powder blushes, lip glosses, more matte lip crayons (of course!) and maybe a foundation.

Have you tried any of these Sonia Kashuk products?  What SK products have you tried? Likes/dislikes?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

 

One thought on “Mini Sonia Kashuk Haul and Review

  1. I have the brush too, and I love it! I haven’t seen the glow powder yet! I will have to look next time I go to Target!

Comments are closed.