Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC cream

Hello Pretties!

They’ve been on the market for quite some time, but I’ve gone and joined the CC cream club just in the last week. If you are a regular Pretty reading my posts, you’ll know that I am a fan of BB creams. I figured it was finally time to try out a CC cream. CC stands for “colour correcting” and these creams aim to do just that — even out any discolourations in the skin, such as redness, dark spots, sallowness and just give an overall glow and radiance to the face.

I decided to go with the Neutrogena Healthy Skin® CC Cream as my first introduction to these creams:

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium

On the Neutrogena website it describes the product as such:

Benefits: Evens and brightens your skin tone and reduce the look of dark spots. Instantly smooths skin to reveal radiant, healthy-looking skin. Protects with SPF 30 to provide broad-spectrum UVA/UVB protection.

Description: CC Creams, also known as Colour Correcting creams, provide all-in-one skin perfecting benefits for naturally beautiful skin. Like BB Creams (Beauty Balm Creams), they will instantly correct your complexion, plus go one step further to help even your skin tone and reduce the look of dark spots. This tinted lightweight non-greasy moisturizer contains ESEENTIAL SOY® extract to brighten skin and minimize the look of freckles and dark spots for flawless, even looking skin while SPF 30 protects against sunburn. Available in 2 shades: Fair-Light and Light to Medium.

I bought this on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart (SDM) for $13.99.

I’ve used this CC cream as my main face base through all of last weekend. I did not use this as my primary moisturizer; I used it over top my regular daytime moisturizer (as I do with all BB creams or foundations). This cream has a light to medium semi-whipped texture and very easy to blend. It smells of sunscreen, not surpisingly, with an SPF of 30. It feels slightly heavy on my skin, but I think I just haven’t found just the perfect amount to apply to my face yet.

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium swatched.

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium swatched.

It’s unfortunate that this only comes in 2 shades: Fair/Light and Light/Medium. I have Light/Medium and luckily, it is somewhat of a good colour match for my skintone. When I first apply this, it scared me a little as it sort of gave off that typical grey cast that products with sunscreen tend to give off. It also looked quite greasy on my face at first (even though it claims to be non-greasy). But after about 5-10 minutes, once the cream settled into my skin, the colour faded to just about a perfect match to my own skintone and the greasy-like finish actually settled to quite a nice “glow”. Normally, I would give my entire face a light dusting of my MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural to set the base, but I only dusted my T-zone this time because I really liked the glow that this left me with — I didn’t want to matte my whole face down.

This definitely delivered in terms of evening out my skin and provided me with light coverage. With a little concealer on the spots on my face that tend to have the most redness (i.e. around my nose, between my eyebrows on my forehead), I’d say I feel confident enough to go out in public without feeling completely face-naked.

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium: about 90% blended; I wanted to show you the radiance it leaves on my skin.

Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC Cream in Light to Medium: about 90% blended; I don’t think the photo really picks it up all that well, but I wanted to show you the slight glow it leaves on my skin. Once this is blended and settled in completely, it really does leave my skin glowing.

So far, so good. I will continue to use this CC cream over the next few months to experiment a bit further on its’ performance in wamer weather and how the colour will match once I get more of a summer tan. I’ve always been a fan of most Neutrogena products I’ve tried — thumbs up for this product as well so far!

I give the Neutrogena Healthy Skin® CC Cream: a HIGH FIVE

Have you tried this CC cream?  What CC creams have you tried?  What are your CC cream likes and dislikes?  Any CC cream suggestions for me?

Thanks for tuning in again Pretties!!

🙂

3 thoughts on “Neutrogena Healthy Skin CC cream

    • Honestly, when I bought it I used it quite a lot, but I ended up trying out some new products and this sort of lost itself in the shuffle! Can’t say I saw any significant benefits in the short time using this but I may have to dig this out again to see what it can do! Thanks 🙂

Comments are closed.