Mask Mondays: Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

Hello Pretties!

I’m back for the third instalment of Mask Mondays! If you want to read my previous two mask reviews click here and here. Although I take generally good care of my skin on a daily basis, sometimes I feel like I just need that extra deep clean that a good mask can provide. The one and only mask that I own a full-size tub of (at this point) is the Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop (retails for $22 Cdn):

Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

I tried a sample sachet of this mask one day and completely fell in love with the results it gave my skin. On The Body Shop website, it describes the product as follows:

BEST IF YOU WANT TO: Detoxify and deep cleanse your skin with a weekly mask that uses natural ionic clay action to draw out impurities and control excess oil.

BEST FOR: oily/combination skin

How it works:

Community Trade bladderwack seaweed and seaweed harvested from the French coast balance skin tone and purify and clarify the complexion.

100% natural clay complex cleanses and revitalizes skin; negatively charged ions act like magnets to draw out dirt and impurities from the pores.

Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

I can definitely feel this mask working after about 5 minutes of having it on my face. It takes about 10 minutes to dry, although I leave it on for about 15 minutes. I apply only a thin layer (about a tablespoon’s worth) to cover my entire face. The smell of this mask is quite earthy and muddy, for lack of a better description — I feel that the fragrance is a bit strong, but I quite like it. After about the five minute mark, I can really start feeling it tightening up on my face — probably because of it drying, but I like to also think it’s because it’s working its magic by drawing out all my impurities and unclogging my stopped-up pores. Here’s me with it on about 2-3 minutes into the treatment:

My "I got my mask on!" face!

My “I got my mask on!” face!

And here’s me after 15 minutes:

I tried smiling but the mask dries so tight that I couldn't do it without looking like I was in pain!

I tried smiling but the mask dries so tight that I couldn’t do it without it looking awkward!!

The photo doesn’t really show the true colour of this mask after drying, but it dries to a nice baby blue colour (not that it matters, just thought I’d let you know!)

I typically use soaked cotton pads in warm water to wipe away my masks — leaves for less of a mess — and then I rinse any bits that are left on my face once I’ve wiped the majority of it off.

I tell ya… I really do think this mask works, in terms of drawing out impurities and removing excess oil. After close inspection in the mirror, I can honestly say that most visible pores (the ones on my nose) look cleaned out and much less visible. In fact, my whole entire face looks like it’s been refreshed and all the bad stuff has been sucked right out. And my face feels extremely soft after. So nice!

I will continue to experiment with different masks every so often, but this is one that I will stay a staple in my skincare arsenal. With warmer months coming, us Pretties with oily/combo (and even dry, I suspect) will probably struggle a bit more that usual with excess oils. THIS mask is one that I can see myself using on a weekly basis come summertime to keep my face in check!

I give the Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop: a STANDING OVATION

Have you tried this mask before? How do you like/dislike it? What is your favourite face mask to use?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

3 thoughts on “Mask Mondays: Seaweed Ionic Clay Mask by The Body Shop

  1. Pingback: Mask Mondays: Oil Removing Mud Face Mask by Balea | Try Me Pretty

  2. Pingback: GLAMGLOW Supermud Clearing Treatment | Try Me Pretty

  3. Pingback: Mask Mondays: Baléa Anti-Aging Face Mask | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.