My Morning Skincare Routine

Hello Pretties!

I’m always interested to know what other Pretties use/do on a daily basis to keep their skin looking in tip-top shape. I love reading people’s skincare routines because it gives me a peek into what works for certain skin types, gives me some insight on products I may have been wanting to try, and it lets me into people’s best kept secrets! Now, let me tell you some of mine!

My morning skincare products. A cleanser, an exfoliator, a serum, a hydrator and a moisturizer with SPF!

My morning skincare products. A cleanser, an exfoliator, a serum, a hydrator and a moisturizer with SPF!

So I thought I’d share with you my typical morning skincare routine. Some of these products I’ve been using for only a couple weeks and some for almost a month. These products may not seem “seasoned” enough for me to do a valid review on them, but these products are working beautifully in my favour and my skin is thanking me every morning so far. I’m almost positive that most of these products will be in my A.M. routine for a good chunk of time to come!

Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser

Neutrogena Pore Refining Facial Cleanser

Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser

I wasn’t happy at all with the cleanser I was using, so I decided to look for a new one. Neutrogena is just one of those brands I seem to hear good things about and I’ve tried some of their products in the past without complaint. I found the Pore Refining Cleanser on sale at Target for $7.99 Cdn. Typically, I go for cleansers with exfoliating beads/grains in them. But this time I wanted something less abrasive but would still give me that deep clean feeling. This cleanser delivers both.

It claims to have AHAs and BHAs in the formula — unsure how much but that’s great nonetheless. In recent months, I’ve changed my tune when it comes to cleansers — they stay on your face for such a short amount of time that any active ingredients likely gets washed away before they even have time to work their magic. So, I’ve simplified my take on cleansers and chose something that looked easy, fresh, simple and uncomplicated, and this cleanser is yes to all of that. As far as reducing pore size, honestly, I don’t know. I haven’t even thought to look in the mirror immediately after I shower to look at my pores!

Overall, this is a great basic cleanser — very mild fresh scent, lathers quite well, cleans skin beautifully and rinses without leaving my face too squeaky clean or too hydrated – a nice in-between feeling.

I give the Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser: a HIGH FIVE

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads

Nip+Fab Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Pads

Nip+Fab Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Pads

I recently did a review on these facial pads (they’re great!!). Click here if you want to know more about it!

In short, I love love love these pads. They contain glycolic acid which acts as an exfoliant to take away those dead, surface skin cells and replace with new, fresh ones. I use these pads after I cleanse. They’re a great alternative to the typical cleanser with exfoliating beads/grains — this does the exfoliating for me in a more gentle manner.

Pepta-Bright and Hydraluron by Indeed Labs

Pepta-Bright and Hydraluron by Indeed Labs

Pepta-Bright and Hydraluron by Indeed Labs

These two products – Pepta-Bright and Hydraluron – are probably the products in my morning skincare routine that makes me the most excited to use everyday. I will do a more in-depth review of these products in a future post – Indeed Labs is the company that makes these babies and I also use another one of their products, Retinol Reface as part of my nighttime skincare routine.

But to give you a little info:

Pepta-Bright: this is a cream/serum that I use after the glycolic pads. About a pea-size drop is enough for my entire face. This product claims to even skintone, lighten hyperpigmentation, promote radiance, prevent formation of future dark spots and more. I’ve been using this for about 3 weeks now and I can’t say for sure if I’ve seen a significant change – yet. I think I will have to continue on with this product for a longer period of time to see changes. And with all of it’s benefits, I will definitely keep on with this one!

I do like the light consistency of this. It has a slight weird smell, I can’t explain it… a faint chemical smell, but nothing that offends or lingers around for too long. It blends into the skin and absorbs very well and quickly.

I honestly can’t remember how much I purchased this for, but I got it on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart for somwhere between $25-33 Cdn. (I’ve only ever seen SDM carry the Indeed Lab line). It’s a small 30ml tube, but even with every day use, I think this might last me at least two months, maybe three.

Hydraluron: this gel-serum is soooo raved about in the beauty blogosphere that I could not NOT try this out. And you know what? I’m glad I picked it up because I think it’s done an awesome job on my skin so far (after about 3 weeks of use). Essentially this contains hyluronic acid, an ingredient that holds 1,000 times its weight in water. That means that when you put this on your face before you put on your moisturizer, it makes your moisturizer “stick” better to your face and makes it work better, by adding that extra boost of hydration to your skin.

This right off the bat plumps up my skin and makes it super soft. Coming out of a terrible, freezing cold winter, my cheeks and forehead were dry as ever. This has restored the moisture in my skin, better than if I had continued to use my moisturizer alone. This doesn’t really have a smell to it and the consistency is a transparent light gel formula. I usually use one pea-size drop for my face after using Pepta-Bright and right before my moisturizer.

Again, I’m not 100% sure how much I paid for this but I picked this up at SDM on sale… I don’t think I paid over $22 for it. Again, it’s a 30ml tube that I think should last me at least two months (I also use this as part of my P.M. skincare routine).

I give both the Pepta-Bright and Hydraluron: HIGH FIVES

Vitamin C Daily Moisture Lotion SPF 30 by The Body Shop

Vitamin C Daily Moisture with SPF 30

Vitamin C Daily Moisture Lotion with SPF 30

I recently did a review on a few of The Body Shop’s Vitamin C line products — one of which is this moisturizer!  Click here to read my review!

In short, I really do like this moisturizer and the fact that it’s got SPF 30 which is great for every day and for following up after using the glycolic acid treatment (must use an SPF after using glycolic acid at all times!) It’s not too heavy for daytime wear and in spite of the higher SPF rating, it doesn’t leave a grey-cast on my face. Knowing that I’ve got good defense on my face now that the spring/summer sun is finally coming out is a no brainer with this moisturizer!

So that’s it – my morning skincare routine as of recent weeks! It might seem like a lot of products but honestly, after cleansing all the other stuff takes about 2-3 minutes at most for me to apply — not alot of time to ask for to make my skin look happy and healthy, right??

What’s your skincare routine consist of?  Have you tried/used/are using any of these products?  If so, how do you find them?  Any recommendations for me on similar products to these that I may like too?  What product(s) in your A.M. skincare routine could you NOT ever go without?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

One thought on “My Morning Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: My Nighttime Skincare Routine | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.