New Skincare Addiction: Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads

Hello Pretties!

On my quest to find the perfect anti-aging skincare routine for myself, I think I have found one product that will remain in my arsenal for many years to come: the Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads:

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads

I have [only] been using this product for about two weeks and I have honestly seen a difference in the condition of my skin already. I’m pretty confident that it’s THIS that has made a difference in my skin in recent days, regardless of the other skincare products I am currently using. Since adding this to my routine, I’ve noticed enough of a positive difference in my skin that I feel confident that it’s this that has contributed to the good results.

The main ingredient in this little tub of goodness is glycolic acid. Glycolic acid is a form of AHA or alpha-hydroxy acid. It is an exfoliator that acts to weaken the lipids that hold dead skin cells together to reveal new skin cells. It can also lighten discolouration (e.g. sun spots, age spots), brighten the complexion, minimize pores and help with acne or blackhead prone skin. It can reduce wrinkles and fine lines and also reduces dullness by promoting skin cell turnover.

Nip+Fab Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Pads

Nip+Fab Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Pads

According to the Nip+Fab website, they note that the pads contain 2.8% glycolic acid. However, in doing some beauty blogosphere research, most reviews note that it contains 4%. In any case, personally, whatever percentage the pads contain, it’s working for me!

As I said earlier, I’ve been using this now for about two weeks. I picked this up on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart for $10.99 Cdn. (regular $12.99 I think).  I was looking for a new toner that provided more benefits than just “toning”. I came across this product and did some research on glycolic acid before I finally decided to purchase. And I’m glad I did!

First off, the packaging is great. You get 60 pre-soaked cotton exfoliating pads that are easy to use and easy to store. The pads have a very subtle, fresh citrus-y smell; nothing overwhelming. The texture of the pads is that of a typical cotton cosmetic pad and the amount of liquid that each one holds is perfect – well-moistened but not sopping.

The pads can be used in the A.M. and P.M. – so this would make one container last you about a month. I personally only use one pad every single morning after cleansing (as I use a retinol treatment in the evening). I gently swipe the right side of my face with one side of the pad and then use the other side to swipe the left side of my face. One pad is more than enough to tone my entire face — I will bring it down to my neck as well. This formula does not irritate my skin and it definitely makes it feel and look so clean and refreshed.

Ok, so in the short 2 weeks of using the pads, this is what I noticed:

  • great extra addition to removing any trace of leftover makeup or cleanser (you’d be surprised at how much cleanser can be left on your face after cleansing!)
  • pores on my nose less visible
  • redness on my cheeks diminished – not completely, but definitely noticable
  • slightly more even skintone
  • slightly brighter complexion

I’d say this is a pretty good indication that if I continue to use this product, I will only continue to reap great results!

One thing to remember: “They” say that, glycolic acid makes the skin more sensitive to sun damage, so it’s recommended that an SPF is used following any treatment with glycolic acid.

I give the Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads: a STANDING OVATION

A few housekeeping reminders!:

  • If you want to know what I mean when I give something a “Standing Ovation” or “Shoulder Shrug” for example, please check out my Ratings Page in the menu bar above
  • I’ve also started an Instagram account especially for my blog – HOORAY!!  Come and follow me: @trymepretty (I also have an Instagram button on my sidebar if you want to find me that way!)

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!!

🙂

 

 

12 thoughts on “New Skincare Addiction: Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads

  1. Thanks Tess! I’ve been looking into glycolic products lately and haven’t actually purchased anything yet. Based on your review I will definitely check out these little pads.

    • You’re welcome! I really am enjoying these little pads! Nip+Fab have quite a few glycolic acid products in their line – cleansers, pads, etc. Something else to keep in mind!

  2. WOW this is a great find and so cheap too. I have been using Glycolic based products for years and swear by them. thanks for sharing. This is a treasure!

    • Yay! I’m glad you found something that works for you! I’ve only begun to research and use products that target anti-aging and I’m glad I found this one! Thanks for the comment and for reading!

  3. I have these too! I really like how convenient they are to use, and they work great! I think these are a good dupe for the First Aid Beauty glycolic pads.

    • They do work great.. I’m surprised how well my skin has responded in only a few weeks! It’s my first stab at a glycolic acid product.. so far, so good!

      Ooo, First Aid Beauty… I’ve recently read a lot of good things about that brand! Perhaps I will need to try!

  4. Pingback: My Morning Skincare Routine | Try Me Pretty

  5. Pingback: Monthly Favourites: August | Try Me Pretty

  6. Pingback: First Aid Beauty (FAB) Facial Radiance Pads | Try Me Pretty

  7. Pingback: Top 10 Beauty Faves of 2014 and Thank You! | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.