Beauty Product Review: eos Lip Balm

Hello Pretties!

I’m back again for a quick review of the eos Lip Balm. You’ve all probably seen these cute little egg-like thingies… I bet most of you probably have one or a few stashed away somewhere in your coat pocket, make-up bag and purse. They sure are darn cute aren’t they?

eos Lip Balm in Strawberry Sorbet

eos Lip Balm in Strawberry Sorbet

Well, in my opinion, cute is about as far as this product goes. On the eos website it describes the eos Lip Balm as:

eos lip balm in Strawberry Sorbet is 95% organic, 100% natural, and paraben and petrolatum free. Packed with antioxidant-rich vitamin E, soothing shea butter and jojoba oil, eos keeps your lips moist, soft and sensationally smooth.

  • Long-lasting moisture
  • Shea butter & vitamin E
  • Smoothes on clear
  • Precisely glides on lips
  • Twist-off top
  • Gluten-free
  • Paraben-free
  • Petrolatum-free
  • Phthalate-free
  • 0.25 oz

I love the fact that this lip balm is mostly organic, all natural and doesn’t have bad junk that are apparently bad for our skin (i.e. parabens) and does include good things for nourishing our lips (i.e. vitamin e, shea, jojoba oil).

eos Lip Balm in Strawberry Sorbet

eos Lip Balm in Strawberry Sorbet

I also love the packaging. It is unique, appealing, easy to use and is somewhat of a conversation piece to those who have never seen them before whenever I pull it out to use it on my lips. It glides on very easy and yes, it does moisturize my lips. The Strawberry Sorbet flavour that is the only one I own and it smells really good — just as it’s named.

In all honestly, however, I don’t think this product really delivers the best moisturization that I’d come to expect from a lip balm. Maybe I’m a lip balm snob, but this just doesn’t cut it in my books.

I put this on my lips when I need something handy and quick to apply. Yes, it soothes any dryness, but for only a little while. I find that I have to keep applying this product almost every 20-30 minutes to continue to feel some kind of hydration on my lips — strangely enough, it feels like it actually makes my lips drier. I’m not sure.. is it just me? Or like I said, maybe after using something so luxurious and really really awesome like the Nuxe Rêve de Miel or even something as cost-friendly yet very effective like the Blistex Daily Conditioning Treatment, the eos Lip Balm is just… meh. I suppose I’ve become more picky when it comes to choosing something as simple as lip balms. (click on the links above to read my reviews on those products)

Aside from the lack of performance, sometimes I carry this around with me, but I do only use it when I need a very quick and easy application of lip hydration and when my lips are not too overly chapped. Other than that, most times it sits on my dressing table and I just like to look at it because it’s so cute. And then I forget about it very quickly and look at my cat Gracie, because she is much cuter:

The No.1 Pretty in my life: Gracie!

The No.1 Pretty in my life: Gracie!

I give the eos Lip Balm: a THUMBS DOWN

Have you tried the eos Lip Balms? What flavours do you have? How do you find they treat your lips?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!

🙂

