Tess’ Ten Best: Drugstore Faves under $10

Hello Pretties!

My 10 favourite drugstore finds under $10!

My 10 favourite drugstore finds under $10!

I’m back again for a review on what I think are the 10 best beauty finds at the drugstore under $10! Everyone is always looking for a good deal on some great products, right? I know I’ve always got my bargain hunter radar turned ON. Most of these products I have bought over and over, time and time again – they are a must-have, gotta-have, all-the-time-have product in my beauty, skin care and body regime. Some of these products I have only begun to try, but I can feel a fondness growing in my heart for them and will probably reserve some space amongst my beauty clutter for these new faves.

I tried my best to pick a mix of skincare, body care and make-up products to appeal to all your senses and curiousities! There’s a few other products that didn’t make the cut this time around — maybe I’ll have to do another installment another day!

In no particular order… let’s get started, shall we?

Vaseline Total Moisture Cocoa Butter Radiant Lotion

Vaseline Total Moisture Cocoa Butter Radiant Lotion

Vaseline Total Moisture Cocoa Butter Radiant Lotion

This has been my go-to body and hand lotion for years. I always have a tube of this somewhere on my dressing table. When I have a little more time after a shower to lotion up (rather then using my dry oil) but I don’t want something too heavy like a body butter, I always reach for this. It smells of cocoa butter, it absorbs very quickly and it definitely keeps my skin hydrated through out the day. (Retail price: ? unsure but definitely under $10; on sale I purchased for $2.99)

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub

This exfoliating scrub has made a permanent home on my shower caddy. For a good, deep down scrubbaroonie on my face (sometimes my elbows and bum cheeks), I will reach for this. I find that it’s gritty enough to really feel like my face is cleaned out, but gentle enough that I can use this daily. If my current cleanser does not contain microbeads, I will use the St. Ives scrub first and then follow up with a cleanser. It smells a bit fruity and I just can’t say anything bad about this product. (Retail price: around $8.99; on sale I purchased for $3.99)

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

Blistex DCT (Daily Conditioning Treatment) lip protectant with SPF 20

Blistex DCT lip protectant with SPF 20

Blistex DCT lip protectant with SPF 20

I think I’ve been buying this lip balm on and off for the last 15 years. For something that costs less than $5, this little tub lasts quite a while and really does the job of keeping chap lips at bay. I don’t normally bring my Nuxe Rêve de Miel in my makeup bag, so the DCT is a great alternative to keeping my lips nice and soft throughout the day. It has a slight medicinal smell, but nothing that I find too offensive or one that lingers on my lips for too long. It definitely absorbs into my lips very well and I find I don’t need to reapply for a few hours – even when my lips are mega-dry, this soothes them for quite some time. (Retail price: ? unsure but definitely under $10; on sale I purchased for $2.99)

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

Baléa 3-in-1 cleansing cloths for face – all skin types

Balea 3 in 1 cleansing cloths for all skin types

Balea 3-in-1 cleansing cloths for face – all skin types

As far as I know, the Balea brand is sold exclusively at Shoppers Drug Mart. So if you’re a fan of using facial wipes for a quick clean-up before a more thorough face washing, you might want to get down to your nearest SDM to your hands on this very affordable pack of facial wipes. The 15-pack shown above I purchased for $3.29, however I usually purchase their biggest pack of 56 wipes for around $6 and it comes in a handy-dandy hard case. The wipes have a semi-soft texture to them – not too rough and not too soft. The smell is clean. I will use this to remove my makeup as soon as I get home just as a quick refresher. In the summertime, because I turn into a sweaty pig, I will have these in my purse most days and actually use them to wipe away some body bits that need refreshing: arms, armpits, neck, forehead. And on my super super lazy nights when I don’t feel like properly washing my face, I have to admit… these will do the trick to wipe away the day’s dirt before my head hits the pillow. (Retail price: ? unsure but definitely under $10; on sale I purchased this for $3.29)

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

Maybelline the Colossal Cat Eyes Volume Express Waterproof Mascara in Glam Black

Maybelline the Colossal Cat Eyes Volume Express Waterproof Mascara in Glam Black

Maybelline the Colossal Cat Eyes Volume Express Waterproof Mascara in Glam Black

Pretties – you get asked the question, “If there’s one make-up item you could NOT live without what would it be?”. To this, my answer would be mascara. Hands down my most used and most obsessed-over make-up item of them all. Amongst the many mascaras I own, I’ve been reaching for this one the most lately. This was actually a more recent discovery – I do have my all-time-favourite mascaras (stay tuned for a future blog post on those!) – but this one has definitely made it’s way on my list of most fave, affordable drugstore brand mascaras on the market now. It claims to give the effect of a “cat eye” lash – where the outer corner lashes will get a mega-lift with a swipe of this mascara. I agree. It has a small curved wand which is great for curling the lashes and keeping that curl intact. I use the opposite side of the scoopy wand to get a good lift at the roots to bring my lashes even to greater lengths, not just the outer corner lashes, but the entire thing. I’m lucky in that my lashes are naturally medium-to-long, so I don’t need that much help with length and volume – but when I do want to get a really open-eye look this mascara is a great one for me. It doesn’t flake throughout the day and definitely holds my lashes up all day long with length, curl and volume. (Retail price: ? unsure but definitely under $10; on sale I purchased for $5.99)

I give it a HIGH FIVE!

Dove Dry Shampoo

Dove Invigorating Dry Shampoo

Dove Invigorating Dry Shampoo

Although I wash my hair everyday, I use the Dove Dry Shampoo to freshen things up. I’ve tried a few different dry shampoos and nothing comes close to this one, for me anyway. Dry shampoos are designed for those days when we haven’t had time to wash our hair, but need a little refreshing and to add life to flat day-old hair. Most dry shampoos are made with powder – this one is made with starch. While completely absorbing any excess oil or icky smells that might be in your hair, spraying this on won’t leave your hair looking like you dumped a whole bowl of white powder on your head (like other dry shampoos). Yes, you still have to rub this into your roots to make sure it absorbs the oils but it doesn’t take much elbow grease to get rid of any white residue. The smell is wonderful – a light, powdery, fresh scent. Sometimes I will spray this directly onto my locks for a refresh and a boost of volume if I need it – a little work through with my fingers or hair brush and it’s like I have a fresh new head of hair! (Retail price: ? but definitely under $10; on sale I purchased it for $3.99)

I give it a HIGH FIVE!

Baléa Facial Masks – Assorted

Balea Facial Masks - assorted

Balea Facial Masks – assorted

I’ve never been one to be diligent with facial masks, but when I found the wide variety of masks at SDM under the Baléa line, I had to try some out! And at 3 of your choice masks for $5, c’mon – what a great deal, especially if you’re looking to try a few. I purchased three at one point — a detoxifying mud mask, a clay mask of some sort, and the one pictured above (which I am anxious to try very soon). The mud and clay masks I tried were very good — they definitely delivered the claims they made. And I found that one package was actually enough for two applications — an even better bang for your buck! There were SO many to choose from and the range is great for all different types of skin and skin concerns. I can’t wait to get my hands on some more! (Retail price: 3 for $5 or $1.99 each)

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eye Liner in 005 Nude

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal eye liner in 005 Nude

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal eye liner in 005 Nude

When I first heard of a “nude” eyeliner I was like, “What the hell?”. But when I saw how it was used, I was like, “I gotta get me summa that!”. This product is great for brightening up any redness in your eyes. No, it won’t take the redness away, but when you apply it directly on your bottom waterline, it gives an illusion of brighter and whiter eyes. I work in front of a computer all day long and I am very very prone to red eyes. I find when I apply this before I go to work, it totally brightens up my peepers and the lasting power is amazing. I couldn’t believe how waterproof this actually was until I ended up rubbing my eye and it just didn’t budge. This one pencil will last me forever I know it, but when I run out of it or lose it, you can bet that I’ll be re-purchasing ASAP. (Retail price: around $11; on sale I purchased for $6.99)

I give it a HIGH FIVE!

Almay Colour + Care Liquid Lip Balm in 950 Truffle Kiss

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in 950 Truffle Kiss

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in 950 Truffle Kiss

A saturated lip colour, hydrating lip balm, non-sticky and not to overly crazy shiny? This Almay Liquid Lip Balm delivers ALL of that! This line comes in about 10 different colours that includes some plums, pinks, nudes, corals and red. The colour I have, Truffle Kiss, is the darkest of all the shades and on my own lips, it gives me a natural, pinky-brown lip tint– a really great everyday colour. This liquid lip balm glides on soooo soft and nice. It smells kinda like vanilla cake frosting – yup – vanilla cake frosting. Not only does it give great colour pay-off, it treats your lips with hydration at the same time. I have a lot of liquid lip balms and lip glosses and by far, this formula is probably the best I’ve tried I wouldn’t be surprised if I pick up the rest of the colours… I’m not even joking!  (Retail price: around $9.99; on sale I purchased it for $6.99).

I give it a STANDING OVATION!

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent – Sorry! The name came of the lid!

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent

As you can see from the first photo, this has made a home in my make-up bag, bangin’ around in there and as a result:  the complete fading of the product name. I use this for touch ups on my oily spots throughout the day when needed. This translucent powder is quite finely milled and does not leave a powdery finish on my skin — it definitely does what it’s meant to — it diminishes shine for a good few hours. It doesn’t really have a smell. The only downside I have to say is not the product itself, it’s the packaging. The lid has a tendency to come off very easily and there is no mirror or brush/powder puff that comes with it. I carry a small powder brush in my makeup bag so I can apply this when I need to. This powder comes in 6 shades, but I opted for the colourless one so it wouldn’t interfere with the rest of my make-up. I wouldn’t mind trying to find a colour match from the other colour choices one day. Performance-wise, if you’re looking for a simple, affordable, good all-around mattifying touch-up powder, I would definitely recommend the Rimmel Stay Matte! (Retail price: around $9; on sale I purchased it for $5.99)

I give it a HIGH FIVE!

Have you tried ANY of these products? How do you like/dislike them? What are YOUR favourite drugstore buys for under $10? Please share!

Thanks again for tuning in Pretties! I hope you enjoyed this post!

🙂

