Beauty Review: The Body Shop’s Beautifying Oils for Body, Face and Hair

Hello Pretties!

I’m back again with another beauty product review that coincides appropriately (yet unfortunately) with the never-ending-winter weather that us Canucks seem to be having this year. We’re nearing the end of February, where the sun is coming up a bit earlier and setting a bit later — a sure hint that spring is around the corner — but Old Man Winter just doesn’t want to leave us alone!

When winters are as bone-chilling and dry as the ones we’ve been having so far, it definitely wrecks havoc on my skin. Dry and itchy arms, legs, and everything in between (literally!).

I am a lotion lady. All the way. Summer, winter, spring and fall, I just don’t feel like myself unless I slather on some lotion on all my bits. The feeling of tight, dry skin is more severe in the colder seasons of course, but even during the warmer months, the feeling of sealing in any bit of moisture after a good shower is one of the best “aaahhh” feelings.

Sometimes I don’t have time in the morning as I get ready for work to do the whole “ooo aaaah..” zen body-lotion-smooting ritual. I miss spots, which then only become apparent when I go to lace up my shoe or hike up my trouser socks and feel that inevitable tight skin pull on my lower back or on the back of my arms. You know what I’m talking about, Pretties…

I’ve found an awesome solution to this problem – Beautifying Oils by The Body Shop. As you can see, I’ve got a couple stocked up — Coconut and Cocoa Butter scents (my favourite scent lines from The Body Shop). Apparently these dry oils can be used on the body, face and hair. Honestly, I have only used this on my body – although I’ve read reviews that some have used it on their hair and face and find the product to add primo hydration to these areas.

Beautifying Oils for Face, Body and Hair by The Body Shop in coconut and cocoa butter.

Beautifying Oils for Face, Body and Hair by The Body Shop in coconut and cocoa butter.

They come in a range of scents, including: coconut, cocoa butter, olive oil, moringa, shea butter, brazil nut, chocolate, mango, pink grapefruit, satsuma and strawberry. The oils are light in texture and also in scent, making them very wearable and any layering of matching (or non-matching) perfume scents won’t get mixed and messed up with the subtleness of the scent in the oils. I can only speak for the coconut and cocoa butter scents – I haven’t tried or smelled the other ones so I can’t say how strong or faint the fragrance is on those.

I keep one bottle on the corner of my bathtub and once I’m done showering, while still dripping wet, I squeeze about a quarter size amount into the palm of my hand, rub my hands together and rub the oil onto the lower half of my body. Ususally another squeeze will take care of the upper half of my body (I tend to put a lot because I love this stuff so much!). The formula extremely moisturizing and hydrating and seals in all that good moisture right after a shower. It doesn’t sit on the surface of your skin; it completely absorbs.  Throughout my day, even in the driest of atmospheres (i.e. the office), I don’t feel like I have to re-moisturize any part of my body with a top-up of body lotion or cream — this keeps dry skin at bay for my entire day. I can say with confidence as well, that my skin is in better condition now than it ever has been in terms of hydration and softness, thanks to this oil. I have been using the oil for about 3 months now — one bottle lasted me about 2 1/2 months, using it at least 5 times per week. I can forsee having this product in my shower arsenal well into my future.

Most of you are probably thinking, I could do this with a $3 bottle of plain old baby oil, right? Yes you can (that’s something my mom used to do and got me hooked on doing it too!). But these oils are just a little more fun, a little more luxurious and a little more indulgent… and what Pretty doesn’t deserve a little of all of that??!!

A 100ml bottle retails at The Body Shop for $15 Cdn. (Again, like I mentioned in a previous post, The Body Shop has various promotions through out the year and you can get quite a good deal on this if you catch a promo).

I give The Body Shop’s Beautifying Oils for Body, Face and Hair: a HIGH-FIVE (click here to see what a high-five means!)

Have you tried this oil? Did you like or dislike it and what is your favourite scent? Have you tried it on your body, face and hair? What’s your favourite after-shower moisturizer?

Thanks for tuning in Pretties!

🙂

5 thoughts on “Beauty Review: The Body Shop’s Beautifying Oils for Body, Face and Hair

  1. I have the satsuma oil. I also use it right after the shower and love it. Doesn’t leave your skin greasy. I’ll have to try it on my face, a lighter scent might be better for that though 🙂

    • Hi Michelle!

      I like the smell of satsuma… I might have to pick that one up for my summer scent! Yes, I’m curious to know how this oil would apply on the face. Maybe the olive oil one would be good for that. Let me know if you do try it that way! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Product Empties #1 | Try Me Pretty

  3. Pingback: Tess’ Ten Best: Drugstore Faves under $10 | Try Me Pretty

  4. Pingback: Monthly Favourites: July | Try Me Pretty

Comments are closed.